Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Trying to integrate Conky into my desktop background. I run 'conky' from terminal but it brings up a second window with the information in it. Any assistance would be great!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215

    Conky


    Trying to integrate Conky into my desktop background. I run 'conky' from terminal but it brings up a second window with the information in it. Any assistance would be great!
    MCP | Network+

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    try this
    conky -help
    and
    conky -d
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215
    When I run

    conky -d

    It opens in it's own window
    MCP | Network+

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215
    Here is a screen shot
    Attached Images Attached Images
    MCP | Network+

  5. #5
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Check this line in your .conkeyrc file and change it to no:

    Code:
    own_window yes
    oz

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    Check this line in your .conkeyrc file and change it to no:

    Code:
    own_window yes
    Where can I find the file itself?
    MCP | Network+

  7. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    It should be in: /home/username/.conkyrc

    If you don't have one, you'll need to copy the default .conkyrc file that comes with the package, or find one belonging to someone else that you like and copy it to your own home directory like shown above.
    oz

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks ozar!
    MCP | Network+

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215


    There we go!

    Thanks again guys!
    MCP | Network+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •