Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
every time i try to play a song in xmms it freezes. it only seems to happen when i have move than 10 or so songs in my playlist, any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363

    xmms freezes


    every time i try to play a song in xmms it freezes. it only seems to happen when i have move than 10 or so songs in my playlist, any ideas?

    Sys Info:
    Mandrake 10 Community
    XMMS 1.2.10

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    maybe you don't have enough ram available...
    Linux For Ever!

  3. #3
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    how much would be needed? i have 256

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    you should probably have 512 ram...there are many processes running and use much as it seems of your ram.so if you open xmms and load a playlist of n-number of songs it uses ram (creates new processes which are putted in ram of the system) so it makes it go slower.if there is not enough then it crashes...maybe you should resize your swap to be 2*amount of ram of your system=>512mb..
    Linux For Ever!

  6. #5
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    ok thanks, guess i'll head to best buy and get some more RAM, again. thanks!

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    There's no way you would need more RAM to use XMMS!

    Sorry, but that made me a bit upset. Unfortunately, I don't know what's wrong, but rest perfectly assured that it's not because you need more than 256 MBs of RAM. If you want empirical evidence, my sister has 128 MBs, and she's running FC2 and XMMS with a playlist of a couple of hundred songs. You don't even need 32 MBs to do that.

  8. #7
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    would the fact the i have stuff like apache and mysql running affect it at all?

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Are you trying to play a format you don't have the plugin for?

    Is your audio output set to the correct sound server for your system?
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  10. #9
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    they are ogg vorbis and mp3 files and play fine in other apps.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    root@ur_box$
    Posts
    15
    Were they precompiled or did you build from source? I would suggest downloading Xmms and compiling it, if it was a binary. If it wasn't, and you compiled from source, there are a some options: Upgrade, downgrade, or debug. If it persists, ask again

    I am sorry fellas, but if you don't know the answer. DO NOT take a stab in the dark and say he doesn't have anough ram ... jeeze. Even if it were ten songs, that's 50 megs of ram... The songs aren't preloaded into ram, infact I am pretty sure there is little buffering to ram at all, and that's in the current song playing.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •