Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm fairly new at this thing so please bear with me. I have just reinstalled Firefox on my FC6 machine (from Fedora's repo) and now when I open Firefox, I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

malware?

I'm fairly new at this thing so please bear with me. I have just reinstalled Firefox on my FC6 machine (from Fedora's repo) and now when I open Firefox, I get some loser's web page in San Fransisco instead of my home page (fedoraproject.org) I have googled and searched this site for how to fix this, to no avail. Help anyone.

PS Stuff like this REALLY irks me. It is one of the reasons i hate Windows so much...

Execute this
    Code:
    rm -r ~/.mozilla
    It will remove all Bookmarks too. Copy bookmarks.html file from .mozilla folder before delete it.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    Thanks devils_casper. I am trying that now. Will let you know how it turns out.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

uh oh...

Weell... I executed this

$rm -r /home/whoever/.mozilla.
    I had emptied the cache fro myself last night to no avail. This emptied my wife's cache.
    I then restarted firefox and the same damn page came up. I then erased firefox with this...
    $ yum erase firefox
    this uninstalled firefox, but left the firefox folder and its contents in /usr/lib. So I got smart and did this...
    rm -rfu /usr/lib/firefox and Presto!! Fireofx is gone. Then I attempted to reinstall using yum, but this is what I got.
    [Chris@localhost ~]$ su -c 'yum install firefox'
    Password:
    Loading "installonlyn" plugin
    Setting up Install Process
    Setting up repositories
    Reading repository metadata in from local files
    Parsing package install arguments
    Nothing to do
    Did I really screw the pooch on this or what? Please help a stupid, stupid man.