Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys, I'm really new to the linux world and recently installed red hat 9.0 on my computer.. I've been lurking these forums for a little while and trying to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Noob here. Need help on RH9.0

Hey guys,

I'm really new to the linux world and recently installed red hat 9.0 on my computer.. I've been lurking these forums for a little while and trying to learn as much as I could before I ask "noob" questions..

I've been having a few problem trying to install fire fox and redhat package manager to my computer.. I'm not sure if my command line text is wrong but i'm trying to follow directions on how to install programs in the "how to" section but still am having problems.. In advance, I appreciate your help.. Thank you for your time!
    -Broke_

RedHat 9.0 is so out dated that you should really consider upgrading.

Have a look at CentOS.

http://http://www.centos.org/

It is a clone of the RHEL version and it is free.

Regards
    Robert

Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

If you have an internet connection, open a terminal and type in:
    Code:
    su
    and press enter. It will ask for your root password. Enter it and again press enter.This makes you "super user." Then type:
    Code:
    yum update
    ..and press enter. My guess is the repositories for RedHat 9 are no longer available, but you never know. Should you get it going and yum updated, then do:
    Code:
    yum install firefox
    ..or it might be...
    Code:
    yum install mozilla-firefox
    "9" was a really good version of RedHat but as Lazydog points out, it is comparitively very old now.