Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
I downloaded Hydra v4.5 and unzipped it. The README says to run ./configure then make then make install in order to compile and install the utility. I ran ./configure and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106

    Hydra install


    I downloaded Hydra v4.5 and unzipped it. The README says to run ./configure then make then make install in order to compile and install the utility. I ran ./configure and when I run make I get the following output:

    gcc -I. -Wall -O2 -c hydra-sip.c -DLIBPOSTGRES
    hydra-sip.c:4:25: openssl/ssl.h: No such file or directory
    hydra-sip.c:5:25: openssl/err.h: No such file or directory
    hydra-sip.c:6:25: openssl/md5.h: No such file or directory
    hydra-sip.c: In function `md5_crypt':
    hydra-sip.c:24: error: `MD5_DIGEST_LENGTH' undeclared (first use in this function)
    hydra-sip.c:24: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
    hydra-sip.c:24: error: for each function it appears in.)
    hydra-sip.c:26: error: `MD5_CTX' undeclared (first use in this function)
    hydra-sip.c:26: error: syntax error before "c"
    hydra-sip.c:31: warning: implicit declaration of function `MD5_Init'
    hydra-sip.c:31: error: `c' undeclared (first use in this function)
    hydra-sip.c:32: warning: implicit declaration of function `MD5_Update'
    hydra-sip.c:33: warning: implicit declaration of function `MD5_Final'
    hydra-sip.c:24: warning: unused variable `md5_raw'
    hydra-sip.c: In function `sip_register':
    hydra-sip.c:60: error: `MD5_DIGEST_LENGTH' undeclared (first use in this function)
    hydra-sip.c:60: warning: unused variable `urp'
    hydra-sip.c:61: warning: unused variable `mu'
    hydra-sip.c:61: warning: unused variable `resp'
    make: *** [hydra-sip.o] Error 1


    I don't know where to go from here. Anybody know what I'm doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    First of all.. Why you need Hydra
    Bruteforcing...bah.. Well heh.. (Medusa is my Favorite)

    Second, you need OpenSSL to compile Hydra..
    if you check the output:
    Code:
    hydra-sip.c:4:25: openssl/ssl.h: No such file or directory
    hydra-sip.c:5:25: openssl/err.h: No such file or directory
    hydra-sip.c:6:25: openssl/md5.h: No such file or directory
    OpenSSL Develop Package or just the OpenSSL package.
    Just take a look..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106
    I thought that may be the reason, but I didn't want install something unnecessary if I was wrong. Also, I didn't want to be to wordy in the explanation.

    I'll give it a try and report back. Thanks!

    p.s. who doesn't need hydra?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Heh, well lots of luck with Hydra.

    Small advice.
    Dont aim it at Random Stuff.
    You'll get into serious trouble.
    A guy from my old class knew I was a (in his eyes) '1337 H4x0r' but well I am just a guy who Studys Network Security and love a Green Commandline on my Laptop.
    So, that guy asked me If I could name him a tool I used.
    So, I said 'Hydra' (Or It was Medusa or Brutus but thats not the point).
    Guess what happens, he did watch the Martix, got one tool. And thought he could hack Companys.
    He seriously aimed it at eBay login.. Bruteforce....
    Well, a day later there was somebody for him at the door...

    Thought I share this..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106
    I installed openssl and got past the error.

    i ran make and then make install. The output mentioned an error with gtk but said to ignore it because it wasn't important (just the gui I suppose). Anyway, I went to /usr/local/bin where hydra apparently installs and there is a file there called hydra but it is 0 bytes.

    I ran make and make install again to give you the output.

    make:
    cd hydra-gtk && ./make_xhydra.sh
    Trying to compile xhydra now (hydra gtk gui) - dont worry if this fails, this is really optional ...
    Error: configure wasnt happy. Analyse this:
    configure: error: Library requirements (gtk+-2.0 >= 2.0.0) not met; consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if your libraries are in a nonstandard prefix so pkg-config can find them.
    make: [xhydra] Error 1 (ignored)

    Now type make install


    make install:
    test -e hydra.exe && touch Makefile || strip hydra pw-inspector
    test -e hydra.exe && strip hydra.exe pw-inspector.exe || touch hydra
    test -e xhydra && strip xhydra || touch Makefile
    test -e hydra.exe && touch Makefile || cp hydra pw-inspector /usr/local/bin && cd /usr/local/bin && chmod 755 hydra pw-inspector
    test -e hydra.exe && cp hydra.exe pw-inspector.exe /usr/local/bin && cd /usr/local/bin && chmod 755 hydra.exe pw-inspector.exe || touch Makefile
    test -e xhydra && cp xhydra /usr/local/bin && cd /usr/local/bin && chmod 755 xhydra
    make: [install] Error 1 (ignored)


    Am I missing something here? I've heard of missing dependencies, but this seems a little complicated. What do you think?

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    umm, well I have no idea to be honest. I am used that its in the Package System.
    But you said that you did have a hydra file?
    Have you just tryed to execute it..?
    You have to be root.

    Cheers,
    Robin (Sorry, I cant really help you now..)
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106
    I do have the execute file, but it's empty, so it's not really there...

    I'm using CentOS so the package system I would use is yum, but yum doesn't know about hydra (unless someone can recommend a repository which I can add, I only have the defualts).

    Can someone recommend a respository which includes hydra?

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Ah, well Yum. thats really a pain in the *
    Well, I am sorry I really cant help you.
    My only shot is to try RPM Search hydra-4.7-alt1.i586.rpm
    That.

    Hope that works..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106
    This is what is frustrating. All I want is to run a simple program with a simple front end. The instructions are simple enough, ./configure, make, make install...yet it doesn't work. What does it take to get this thing working?

    This kind of thing makes me doubt the usefullness of the entire platform. I may not be a programmer, but I'm not an idiot. Should this be this hard?

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    No, but you need the Development Librarys of GTK2 and stuff.
    Using YUM is a pain. Since (in my eyes) its poorly Configured.

    Well, I hope you'll get it up.
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •