Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
Well one thing I see is that your using the wrong command to install an RPM from the command line. You should be using: rpm -ivh kopete-0.6.1a-4rh80akc.i386.rpm and rpm -ivh ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    KY -- USA
    Posts
    21

    Well one thing I see is that your using the wrong command to install an RPM from the command line. You should be using:

    rpm -ivh kopete-0.6.1a-4rh80akc.i386.rpm

    and

    rpm -ivh wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i686.rpm

    There are other commands that can be used with "rpm" from the command line, but the "-ivh" is the most common.

    The "./" usage is for *.bin files. So if you had: wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i686.BIN, then you would use "./wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i686.BIN".

    Hope this helps.

  2. #12
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    Thanks. That worked for Kopete, but not for WINE, strangely enough...

    [root@Linux Files]# rpm -ivh /home/ed/Files/kopete-0.6.1a-4rh80akc.i386.rpm
    warning: /home/ed/Files/kopete-0.6.1a-4rh80akc.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 1e547375
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    1:kopete ########################################### [100%]
    [root@Linux Files]# rpm -ivh /home/ed/Files/wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm
    error: /home/ed/Files/wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm: rpmReadSignature failed
    error: /home/ed/Files/wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm cannot be installed

    Does WINE require something more? o_O

  3. #13
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    damn, I only mentioned to look at the command list on my guide 9 posts ago!

    lol

    as a general rule, it is better to rpm files from within their own directory.

    ie, use konqueror to browse to that directory (/home/ed/Files) or whatever

    then click on tools - open terminal

    [ed@localhost ed] $ rpm -ivh whatever the h.e. double hockey sticks the file is

  4. #14
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    I did that. It says this:

    [root@Linux Files]# rpm -ivh wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm
    error: wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm: rpmReadSignature failed
    error: wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm cannot be installed

  5. #15
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    isn't wine already installed in RH 8.0?
    maybe that is what is causing the conflict.

    try whereis wine in the terminal
    also wine -v

    if it shows you what version is there or displays a directory for whereis wine then it is already there.

    if so and you want a later version (if your version is too old)

    you can try rpm -Uvh instead of -ivh which would upgrade your current version if you already have an earlier one installed

    other than that you might be missing some development packages.

  6. #16
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    [root@Linux Files]# wine -v
    Wine 20020605

    That's the version that I have...I've never used it, and I assume that it's installed correctly as RedHat did that on its own, but I have it and want to use a newer version.

    [root@Linux Files]# rpm -Uvh wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm
    error: wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm: rpmReadSignature failed
    error: wine-20030219-1rh8winehq.i386.rpm cannot be installed

    Still the same error with -Uvh.

    [ed@Linux ed]$ whereis wine
    wine: /usr/bin/wine /etc/wine.reg /etc/wine.systemreg /etc/wine.userreg /usr/lib /wine /usr/include/wine /usr/share/man/man1/wine.1.gz

    That's where the current WINE is. Am I supposed to run the RPM from within one of those directories?

  7. #17
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    try doing rpm -Uvh as user, if that doesn't work then;

    I'd just try to use the version that you have, but if you really want to upgrade then it looks like you might have to remove the other one first and then install the newer one. That may not work though, so be prepared to re-install the previous version if it doesn't.

    You can remove your previous version of wine by using the package manager. When that is done, then you can rpm the newer one using rpm -ivh since it would then be considered a new install.

  8. #18
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    Doing it as a user returned the same arguement again. I'd rather just use my current version rather than upgrading, but it doesn't appear to work...

    When I type "wine" in the Run Command it doesn't do anything. When I go into /usr/bin and clicked on "wine", it doesn't do anything.

    What now? X_X

  9. #19
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    It sounds more like you need to see how wine works, there are associations you need to make and other things as well. Check out this site and read up on how wine is used:

    http://www.winehq.com/

  10. #20
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    I read a good chunk of that FAQ...it's all Greek to me. Could you explain briefly how I would go about running a Windows program using WINE? Since RedHat installed it for me, I really don't know how to use it. =\

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •