Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Ok, I'm new to linux and am trouble with Java and Mozilla. First, my mozilla browser is mozilla-1.6-8 (comes packaged with FC2) and it works fine if it has not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

j2re crashes mozilla, help

Ok, I'm new to linux and am trouble with Java and Mozilla.

First, my mozilla browser is mozilla-1.6-8 (comes packaged with FC2) and it works fine if it has not tried to interface with Java. I installed j2re1.4.2_05 and it works just fine, but any time that I put a symbolic link in the mozilla plugin folder mozilla crashes out on start up. After mozilla crashes the first time, the only way I have been able to fix it is by uninstalling and reinstalling mozilla from the FC2 disc. Once mozilla crashes, nothing else I have tried will bring it back. I have tried removing the symbolic link, and reverting /etc/profile.d/java.sh, I have uninstalled java, but nothing else fixes mozilla. Its important that I can use java in conjuction with mozilla so if anyone has any ideas as to how I can remedy this please let me know.

Also, I get no error message of any kind.

I think that there is a specific plugin for java in mozilla, i dont know if linking to the main j2re is what you were supposted to do, but ive never installed java in mozilla... reguardless. If you need a browser with java support, Opera can be installed with java integrated. The interface isnt perfect, but it is a good quick fix untill you get mozilla running correctly. (did you try dling the mozilla installer and running the uninstall script?, then just re-installing) or, you can utilize yum,
    Code:
    yum install mozilla
    then something like
    Code:
    yum install mozilla-plugin-java
    should do it ( I dont know the name, you will probably have to search for the plugin on yum)
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts