Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Ok, I'm new to linux and am trouble with Java and Mozilla. First, my mozilla browser is mozilla-1.6-8 (comes packaged with FC2) and it works fine if it has not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Berea College
    Posts
    22

    j2re crashes mozilla, help


    Ok, I'm new to linux and am trouble with Java and Mozilla.

    First, my mozilla browser is mozilla-1.6-8 (comes packaged with FC2) and it works fine if it has not tried to interface with Java. I installed j2re1.4.2_05 and it works just fine, but any time that I put a symbolic link in the mozilla plugin folder mozilla crashes out on start up. After mozilla crashes the first time, the only way I have been able to fix it is by uninstalling and reinstalling mozilla from the FC2 disc. Once mozilla crashes, nothing else I have tried will bring it back. I have tried removing the symbolic link, and reverting /etc/profile.d/java.sh, I have uninstalled java, but nothing else fixes mozilla. Its important that I can use java in conjuction with mozilla so if anyone has any ideas as to how I can remedy this please let me know.

    Also, I get no error message of any kind.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    I think that there is a specific plugin for java in mozilla, i dont know if linking to the main j2re is what you were supposted to do, but ive never installed java in mozilla... reguardless. If you need a browser with java support, Opera can be installed with java integrated. The interface isnt perfect, but it is a good quick fix untill you get mozilla running correctly. (did you try dling the mozilla installer and running the uninstall script?, then just re-installing) or, you can utilize yum,
    Code:
    yum install mozilla
    then something like
    Code:
    yum install mozilla-plugin-java
    should do it ( I dont know the name, you will probably have to search for the plugin on yum)
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Berea College
    Posts
    22
    I can't get any version of java to work on any browser! has no one else run into this problem??

    I'll continue to research it, but any help would be great.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    i have done that (use java) with export command...now i don't really remember how i did that.i'll search and post if find something..
    Linux For Ever!

  6. #5
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    does your normal j2re work? or is the entire enviroment trashed?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  7. #6
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    also, when you install mozilla, on the default homepage, there is a link to plugin installation, look at the java one.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Berea College
    Posts
    22
    Yeah, my java environment works, just not with mozilla. I got my rpm from the default homepage too. Thanks for the help so far, but any other suggestions?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    can u install firefox and then the java plugin for that and see what comes of it?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Berea College
    Posts
    22
    FireFox does the same thing as mozilla. I downloaded mozilla 1.7 and was able to install the java plugin just fine. My new problem is that mozilla crashes only when I access a web page containing java. The plugin shows up in the 'About Plug-ins' but still crashes out.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    so you can use the browser fine untill the page w/ java. if you know enough java, you cna open the java console and try summin in that.... is this anysite with java? or just this one?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •