Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello I am using Ubuntu 7.04 with GIMP 2.2. I am trying to find out how to import pictures from a Digital Camera which is connected to the PC via ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User src2206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    285

    Post GIMP- How do I Import pictures from a Camera


    Hello

    I am using Ubuntu 7.04 with GIMP 2.2. I am trying to find out how to import pictures from a Digital Camera which is connected to the PC via an USB cable. I tried to search through the GIMP help file, but could not locate anything conclusive!

    So could any one please help me out?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Check this HowTo:

    Upload Images from a Digital Camera to an Ubuntu PC - For Dummies

    I think it will help you to get the job done.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux User src2206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    285
    Thanks ozar

    Well, I am trying to find out how it can be done using GIMP only. Basically, me and some of my friends are preparing a guide for GIMP and its use with a Digital Camera, in our mother tongue. So I hope you understand we would like to make as distro independent as possible.
    Hence it would be nice if you (or any one else) might help me out on a way to import images using GIMP from a DigiCam.

    Thanks again

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Not really sure, but I don't think gimp can do that.

    Check this Ubuntu HowTo for more info that might help:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/7.10/musicvi.../C/photos.html
    oz

  6. #5
    Linux User src2206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    285
    Thanks ozar...
    But I found an option in GIMP...File> Acquire> Device
    unfortunately there is no help page on this in GIMP yet..any idea?

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi src2206 !

    Isn't your digicam's details appearing under File -- Acquire Menu of GIMP?
    I am using Debian and I have Sony Digicam. Whenever I plug it in, its Icon appear on Desktop and Digicam Model under Acquire menu of GIMP. I can edit files of cam directly through GIMP.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Linux User src2206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    285
    Thanks devils_casper

    I do not have any DigiCam yet. I shall surely ask one of my co worker to bring the Kodack DigiCam, on which the tutorial is based. Basically we were not at all sure whether it is possible to acquire or not.

    Thanks again..

    BTW, happy new year

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •