Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, i'm really new to linux, im ok at navigating and am learning stuff but unfortunately when it comes to installing things im clueless. I'm running yellowdog 3.0 which is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help installing a DC client.

Hello, i'm really new to linux, im ok at navigating and am learning stuff but unfortunately when it comes to installing things im clueless. I'm running yellowdog 3.0 which is based on RedHat on a 1st gen imac. I'm trying to install a DC client like DCgui or DCTC. I can download the files but i don't know what to do with them. if they're compressed i dont know how to uncompress them. It doesnt show what format they are? Has anyone installed any DC clients and would be willing to guide me? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Linux Newbie
    What are the names of the files you downloaded? If they end in .tar.gz, then they are g-zipped tar archives, and you should use
    Code:
    tar xzvf funkycrud.tar.gz
    to extract them. If they are in .tar.bz2 format, then they are b-zipped tar archives, and you should use
    Code:
    tar xjvf lambshanks.tar.bz2
    to do so. And if they are in .rpm format, use
    Code:
    rpm -i shuttlecock.rpm
    to extract them. There should be a README or an INSTALL file in the directory to which they extract which will describe the installation process in detail.

Hope this helps!
    Situations arise because of the weather,
    And no kinds of love are better than others.

Linux Newbie
    these steps are for installing anything from source.
    1. first uncompress
    for *.tar.gz type 'tar -xvzf filename.tar.gz'
    for *.tar.bz2 type 'tar -xvzf filename.tar.bz2'
    2. read any readme files, cuz the rest might change slightly depending on software. type 'less README'
    3. configure the software. type './configure'
    4. compile the software. type 'make'