Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
If i open more than 1 file with firefox, it tells me to create a new profile. How can I open a file with the same profile. The net installations ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    46

    Firefox problems


    If i open more than 1 file with firefox, it tells me to create a new profile. How can I open a file with the same profile.

    The net installations of extensions do not work...nothing happens after clicking the link...how do u manually install the extension by hacking those rdf files?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    How can I open a file with the same profile.
    the profile selection will show up only if you run firefox and there is already running in the background.so if you want to download files from different locations use ctrl+t to open a new tab.
    about the extensions ,that worked fine on me...
    Linux For Ever!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    46
    True, but if i make it my default browser then everytime i double-click in my file explorer to open more than 1 file, the profile selection shows up. I cant open new tabs and keep on manually giving it the url of local files too !!!

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    have you tried to open a new window?(ctrl+n)??
    Linux For Ever!

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Do a google search or search this forum. There's a script out there that will sovle this problem.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    what kind of script?i am curious,i'll search for it!
    Linux For Ever!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12241

    Haven't tried either one myself, as that nifty crtl+n works for me...

    Let us know what you think of it.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    even i don't have such a problem with profile in firefox i will try to run this script ...thanks for the post!it's surely useful
    Linux For Ever!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •