Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I cant seem to get any of my avi ,mp4, mpeg files to play on yellow dog linux, 5.0 on my ps3. I tried downloading real player which came ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Playing avi and mpeg files on linux

Hi,
    I cant seem to get any of my avi ,mp4, mpeg files to play on yellow dog linux, 5.0 on my ps3. I tried downloading real player which came as a .bin file and cant be opened. And i also tried to download mplayer but that didnt work either- archive manager couldnt open it.i'm new at this so i dont know any technicalities. some help would be nice.

Hi,

Have you dowloaded the Win32 codecs? Mplayer won't play the avi format until you do. You should also think about installing libdvdcss2. Another idea is to install VLC, which will play just about anything out of the box.
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by Manchunian View Post
    Hi,

Have you dowloaded the Win32 codecs? Mplayer won't play the avi format until you do. You should also think about installing libdvdcss2. Another idea is to install VLC, which will play just about anything out of the box.
    Actually, mplayer shouldn't need that anymore, it can even play wmv9, real player and flv stuff. Unless you are using an old version. The win32codecs support is still there, but I haven't felt a need to use it for a long time. Besides that, it won't work if you are using a 64 bits distro, which I don't know if that's the case. That's, unless you use a 32 bits mplayer on a 64 bits distro, which is perfectly possible.

The exception is DRM'd stuff. If you are buying that kind of stuff, then you are out of luck. Mplayer doesn't support and will never support that kind of thing.