Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I'm using kde2.2 with kmix2.2.2. For some reason, I always have to launch this twice and on the second time, it will load. Any ideas on how to fix this?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    kmix


    I'm using kde2.2 with kmix2.2.2. For some reason, I always have to launch this twice and on the second time, it will load. Any ideas on how to fix this?
    The best things in life are free.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    where are you launching it from?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    What if you start it in a terminal?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    Same deal

    Same deal. It's almost as if tries to run in the background.
    The best things in life are free.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    What do you mean? Doesn't it display anything? If so, strace it.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    1. What's strace? By the way it sounds, I'm thinking stack trace?
    2. When I state that it doesn't display it, the actual kmix applet doens't show up. It's only shows itself on the second time. When I invoke it from the command line for the first time, nothing happens. However, I know it's running since 'ps' gives me the pid for kmix. When I run kmix again, then it shows up on the screen.
    The best things in life are free.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    strace stands for syscall trace. If you run "strace kmix", it will display all syscalls invoked by kmix and what they return. There is also ltrace, that will display all library calls (to libraries with debugging symbols). strace is generally more useful, but sometimes you will have to use ltrace instead.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    What do I do after I use strace?
    The best things in life are free.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, you watch the output to try and see what goes wrong. Or you could post it here, and I can try to see it for you.

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Dolda,

    Well, after running 'strace kmix', I don't see any errors at all. As you know, you helped me fix that root X problem earlier and I tried invoking kmix as a root user. When I do that, it pops open right away instead of me having to invoke it twice as a normal user.
    The best things in life are free.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •