Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
:o I'm really new to Linux, but I basically know what an RPM is...not so much how it works though. So I haven't been able to figure out on my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    26

    AOL Instant Messenger RPM


    :o I'm really new to Linux, but I basically know what an RPM is...not so much how it works though. So I haven't been able to figure out on my own (without trying) if the AIM RPM is compatible with the latest version. If anyone knows please respond. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Why don't you just try? if it isn't, the installer will complain about it and exit.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    rpm

    I believe 'rpm -i <file name>' should do the trick. All you need to do is substitute the filename and you'll be good to go. You can also read about rpm by issuing 'man rpm'. Just from experience, I found that gaim(an aol instant messenger) clone is more error free.
    The best things in life are free.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Indeed, you'd probably like to use gaim instead. Also, I think you'd prefer rpm -ihv over rpm -i, since it displays the progress as well.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolda2000
    Why don't you just try? if it isn't, the installer will complain about it and exit.
    well at the time i wrote this...i was far from having linux so...

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    rpm with more options

    Dolda,

    Yea, I too would use rpm -ivh. It's been a while since I used rpm since I'm running debian. Ah, I remember all the headaches I used to get when the dependencies failed. Say, is Redhat going to port apt to it's distro? I think Suse has apt-get for rpm. That would be wonderful if they ported that over.
    The best things in life are free.

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Norway, Asker
    Posts
    267
    apt-get are avalible for allmost all major rpm based distroes.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I don't think RedHat would use it by default, though... did you know that RPM stands for "RedHat Package Manager"?

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    RPM

    Dolda,

    Of course I knew that it stands for Redhat Package Manager. I just remembered that there was a method of using apt for RPMs.
    The best things in life are free.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •