Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
HI, I have configured dhcp server in Linux with mandatory options like routers,subnet mask,tftp server name,range,etc... and optional parameters like domain,dns etc.... But now i would like to know how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Req. help in configuring DHCP server optns


    HI,

    I have configured dhcp server in Linux with mandatory options like routers,subnet mask,tftp server name,range,etc... and optional parameters like domain,dns etc.... But now i would like to know how we configure option 122 or 177 and their sub options in Linux?

    122 or 177 is cable labs packet cable parameter

    Can i configure all options in windows DHCP server in Linux as well?

    Thanks,
    Padma

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Hi and welcome to the forums!

    Quote Originally Posted by padma2002
    Can i configure all options in windows DHCP server in Linux as well?
    Pffff, I dunno?? The amount of options is incredible, so I never got round to a side by side comparison But kidding aside, DHCP is platform agnostic. It's a protocol. What you probably mean to ask is whether your application of the protocol offers the same options.

    That's hard to say without knowing which application you use. I use dnsmasq, and that is a general DNS/DHCP/PXE/TFTP all-in-one. It's pretty flexible, but doesn't have the same amount of options as for example a dedicated dhcpcd (where 'd' is for daemon).

    So can you tell us what you are using for your server, and which distro you are running it on?


    Quote Originally Posted by padma2002
    122 or 177 is cable labs packet cable parameter
    I really don't know what this is. A quick google left me only vaguely able to tie this in to the DHCP mechanism. But I take it it is security related, and leaning on Kerberos autentification? Hmmmm, do you have more info on that??
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Req. help in configuring DHCP server optns

    HI Freston,

    Thanks for ur reply...

    First of all, I am new to linux so cannot explain much about it. DHCP is a service which we install on Linux right. so I have installed it and configured parameters required for a cable modem to come online. The option required for CM to come online are the same one's which I mentioned in my first post.

    I have dhcp and tftp. To explain about option 122 or 177, we need to have prior knowledge of eMTA (embedded Multimedia Terminal Adapter). Do you have idea abt the eMTA?

    As I require dhcp,tftp and dns (and optn 177 too), i will check out dnsmasq once and let you know.

    ~ Padma

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    I understand this technology is all about VoIP, using a cable modem no less. Maybe this link is of some use to you? It's pretty old but looks useful

    Does Linux DHCP server support OPTION 122? - Usenet Forums
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Reqd help in configuring DHCP server optns

    HI Freston,

    Sorry couldn't check the links you have given. Will check them tomorrow and let you know.

    Configured few parameters which I could get from this link. CableLabs Option 122 | docsis.org

    ~ Padma

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Req. help in configuring DHCP server optns

    Freston,

    Today i tried configuring options but when I restart dhcpd service then it was throwing error saying space is not defined.

    The links which you gave mostly talk about the RFC of option 122 and its sub options and not how to configure them.

    At present, option 122 has been replaced by option 177. So tried configuring optn 177 as given in docsis.org, even this didn't work

    ~ padma

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    I'm afraid this error of yours I cannot explain without more knowledge of your configs.

    But also the system we're talking about is to specialistic. I have no first hand experience with it. That said, there's a great deal of information, specially about option 122, found here.

    Quote Originally Posted by pl_padma2002
    The links which you gave mostly talk about the RFC of option 122 and its sub options and not how to configure them.
    I was led to believe here that it is option 177 that got replaced by 122 rather than the other way around. But since you contradict this, I'm not very certain about anything anymore
    It does seem that searching for option 122 yields more results than searching for 177. But at this stage I'm afraid I'm no longer helping, just guessing unhindered by first hand experience.

    I'm sorry, unless anyone else has something prudent to add you may have better chances at a more specialized forum. Good luck!



    Of course, if you have any questions about the Linux side of things don't hesitate to ask.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •