Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I am fairly new to the Linux world although I have installed a few different distros over the years and "dabbled". The latest Suse 11.0 (64 bit) is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with installing executables and .package files in Linux

Hi all,
    I am fairly new to the Linux world although I have installed a few different distros over the years and "dabbled". The latest Suse 11.0 (64 bit) is quite impressive I must say and I have been having a great time setting it all up using Gnome desktop ( I found KDE 4.0 a little unstable).
    Problem I have now is with some software I located from sources other than the usual repositories and consequently they are not available as .rpm packages. One of the programs is called "GrabAndBurn" from Rocket software and comes as a .tar.gz file which I have unpacked using FileRoller to reveal a folder titled "rocket-html" and 3 other files (libcdb.so - libcdb.so.1 - RocketGrabAndBurn) the RocketGrabANdBurn file is an executable but I cannot find any extension on it to show exactly what it is. The rocket-html folder is just full of .htm and graphic files etc. I assume I need to run the executable file as root but I have no idea of the command line code I should use. The program is for dvd ripping/burning and looks as though it could be very good if I can actually get it installed and running.
    The other program I am having difficulties with is XMule (yes, I already have AMule, but I would like to try XMule as well) and comes in the form of a .package file called "xmule-1.12.2-wx262.x86.package". I need help with installing this one also.
    I have read TechieMoe's excellent instructions on how to install various files in Gnu/Linux but it doesn't appear to cover the type of programs I have mentioned.
    Any help with these programs or installing unusual file types into Linux generally would be appreciated.