Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
In Linux, the files were processing based on timestamp. Can anyone suggest how to process the files based on alphabets? My application is in windows. Here iam processed the files ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Post File Processing in Linux


    In Linux, the files were processing based on timestamp. Can anyone suggest how to process the files based on alphabets?

    My application is in windows. Here iam processed the files based on alphabetical order. While coming to linux its coming wrong.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lakshmipathi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from sun - Often seen near moon
    Posts
    1,763

    Post

    Can please explain more about your application.Any Programs in C or C++?
    First they ignore you,Then they laugh at you,Then they fight with you,Then you win. - M.K.Gandhi
    -----
    FOSS India Award winning ext3fs Undelete tool www.giis.co.in. Online Linux Terminal http://www.webminal.org

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Post

    Hi Lakshmipathi,

    My application is in Java. Iam using the shell script to run our jar in linux.
    find the script :
    CLASSPATH=${CLASSPATH}:jars/Test.jar:
    CLASSPATH=${CLASSPATH}:aaa/xxx/yyy/properties:
    CLASSPATH=${CLASSPATH}:aaa/xxx/yyy/properties/data1:
    CLASSPATH=${CLASSPATH}:aaa/xxx/yyy/properties/data2:
    /usr/java/jdk1.5.0_12/jre/bin/java -cp ${CLASSPATH} com.xxx.TestProgram

    please let me know if you need any clarifications.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Lakshmipathi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from sun - Often seen near moon
    Posts
    1,763

    Exclamation

    Make sure you have jar files under specified locations and
    then check whther the CLASSPATH environmental variable working?
    try
    echo $CLASSPATH
    above should provide you appropriate java path.
    First they ignore you,Then they laugh at you,Then they fight with you,Then you win. - M.K.Gandhi
    -----
    FOSS India Award winning ext3fs Undelete tool www.giis.co.in. Online Linux Terminal http://www.webminal.org

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Post

    Classpath is correct. Its working fine, pblm is iam not able to atomate the process because of file processing order is different what iam expecting.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Lakshmipathi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from sun - Often seen near moon
    Posts
    1,763

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by prasanthi View Post
    because of file processing order is different what iam expecting.
    I can't get you here.What's do you mean by "file processing order".

    Few months back, i had set-up dev server with J2EE application ,just by making sure all files available in appropriate path (path in property files are valid) and environmental variables are available.

    Are you migrating from J2EE application from Windows to Linux ?
    First they ignore you,Then they laugh at you,Then they fight with you,Then you win. - M.K.Gandhi
    -----
    FOSS India Award winning ext3fs Undelete tool www.giis.co.in. Online Linux Terminal http://www.webminal.org

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •