Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am trying to ditch Windows entirely but it seems that I need to keep it around. Too Bad! XSane .991 Preface: Using an Epson 4180 scanner under Win2K I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question XSane Scanning Negatives

I am trying to ditch Windows entirely but it seems that I need to keep it around. Too Bad!

XSane .991

Preface:

Using an Epson 4180 scanner under Win2K I had no difficulty scanning negatives. You put a strip of negatives into the holder and after scanning you got a bunch of individual photos that were like any other. The software named and numbered them.

Now using XSane under Linux I want to do the same thing. I have been using XSane for a couple of years and find the software better than what came with the scanner under windows until now.

There are two problems:

1. When I try to scan using Transparency Unit and Kodak Negative I get a scan of a negative with no option to turn it into a photo. I want the software to produce a photo (positive).

2. When scanning a strip you get one file with all of the negatives scanned as a strip instead of individual images.

Like I said, these things were produced automatically under windows.

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by measekite View Post

1. When I try to scan using Transparency Unit and Kodak Negative I get a scan of a negative with no option to turn it into a photo. I want the software to produce a photo (positive).

2. When scanning a strip you get one file with all of the negatives scanned as a strip instead of individual images.
    Only thing I can suggest is use gimp (scan using File>Aquire>XSane: Device dialog.. ).

For (1) using the (From menu) Colours>Invert

For (2) select each image, copy then paste into new.

By the way xsane dialog lists negative under the color drop down list (the third one from top), not sure if that will work.