Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi. I'm a newbie, although I'm starting to know a bit. Just can say that I love Linux. Thing is, I'm running a webserver, which hosts several sites and a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Backup program that supports tapedrive...

Hi.

I'm a newbie, although I'm starting to know a bit. Just can say that I love Linux.

Thing is, I'm running a webserver, which hosts several sites and a few phpBB boards. I've been taking backup manually so far by downloading the files. Now, I have a Tandberg tapedrive which I could use to take automatic backups once a day or so, but I don't know which application that is suited for this purpose.

I need some tips, and a good guide on how to install/configurate the application.

Linux Guru
    You know, UNIX was initially distributed on tapes, so there's no lack for tape support in any UNIX compatible OS. There are countless tape backup solutions for Linux. First, there is the dump program that will dump an entire filesystem to tape. If you don't like that (which I guess you don't), try tar and gzip to output the files to a tape. tar does stand for tape archive, but it has come to be the standard archiving tool overall.
    Basically, just do this:
    Code:
    tar filespec | gzip -9 >/dev/st0
    Replace filespec with the files to back up, and /dev/st0 with your actual tape device.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the answear.

I've been using the dump command before, and no - I didn't like it.
    Thing is that I don't want to use the 'tar filespec | gzip -9 >/dev/st0' either, cause I would like this to be administrated from an application. I could always put this into chrontab, yes, but I would want an easier-to-use interface. A graphical program for use in KDE could also be used.

Anyone?

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by mOdEtWo
    I would want an easier-to-use interface.