Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I am using RHEL5 . How to start X server once I boot the system automatically . My problem is that my Gnome desktop does not appear once i boot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    33

    Thumbs down About startx


    I am using RHEL5 . How to start X server once I boot the system automatically . My problem is that my Gnome desktop does not appear once i boot the system.

    Manually i have to type startx to launch Gnome Desktop.

    How Gnome desktop appear Automatically once I boot the system?
    Last edited by bigtomrodney; 07-21-2009 at 02:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Can you post the contents of /etc/inittab please?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    33
    # System initialization.
    si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

    l0:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
    l1:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
    l2:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
    l3:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
    l4:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
    l5:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 5
    l6:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6

    # Trap CTRL-ALT-DELETE
    ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

    # When our UPS tells us power has failed, assume we have a few minutes
    # of power left. Schedule a shutdown for 2 minutes from now.
    # This does, of course, assume you have powerd installed and your
    # UPS connected and working correctly.
    pf:owerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting Down"

    # If power was restored before the shutdown kicked in, cancel it.
    pr:12345owerokwait:/sbin/shutdown -c "Power Restored; Shutdown Cancelled"


    # Run gettys in standard runlevels
    1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
    2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
    3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
    4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
    5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
    6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

    # Run xdm in runlevel 5
    x:5:respawn:/etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon
    -- INSERT -- 53,1 Bot

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Is there a line for initdefault?

    If you find this
    Code:
    id:3:initdefault:
    Change it to
    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:
    If your default runlevel is 5 then it should boot to a login manager or straight to your desktop depending on your configuration.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney View Post
    Is there a line for initdefault?

    If you find this
    Code:
    id:3:initdefault:
    Change it to
    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:
    If your default runlevel is 5 then it should boot to a login manager or straight to your desktop depending on your configuration.
    Thanks bigtomrodney, it worked for me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •