Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Well, the clean all command did work - I was able to install Development Tools and all related files. But unfortunately I still get the same error when I try ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    24

    Well, the clean all command did work - I was able to install Development Tools and all related files. But unfortunately I still get the same error when I try to run VMWare and it tries to build modules.

    Here is the list of modules it tries to build:
    - Virtual Machine Monitor
    - Virtual Network Device
    - VMWare Blocking Filesystem
    - Virtual Machine Connection Interface
    - VMCI Sockets

    It fails on the first one (Virtual Machine Monitor). Again, here's the relevant portion of the error log:

    Code:
    Aug 10 19:24:11.470: app| Extracting the sources of the vmmon module.
    Aug 10 19:24:11.487: app| Building module with command: /usr/bin/make -C /tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmmon-only auto-build SUPPORT_SMP=1 HEADER_DIR=/lib/modules/2.6.29.6-217.2.3.fc11.x86_64/build/include CC=/usr/lib64/ccache/gcc GREP=/usr/bin/make IS_GCC_3=no VMCCVER=4.4.0
    Other ideas?

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    From reading up you may need to install the following if you haven't already:

    Code:
    yum groupinstall "Development Tools" "Legacy Software Development" "Development Libraries"
    Linux User #453176

  3. #13
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    Have you tried getting help from vmware? vmware workstation is a paid for product, you should be getting some support from them. It is entirely possible that fedora 11 is using too new of a kernel to work with the version of workstation you are trying to use, especially if they are based on older kernel API's. Also your "relevant portion" really contains no useful information, could you post the entire log?

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    24
    There really isn't much else to the log. Here it is in its entirety:

    Code:
    Aug 11 05:48:37.061: app| Log for VMware Workstation pid=10367 version=6.5.2 build=build-156735 option=Release
    Aug 11 05:48:37.061: app| Host codepage=UTF-8 encoding=UTF-8
    Aug 11 05:48:37.061: app| Logging to /tmp/vmware-root/setup-10367.log
    Aug 11 05:48:37.915: app| Extracting the sources of the vmmon module.
    Aug 11 05:48:37.933: app| Building module with command: /usr/bin/make -C /tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmmon-only auto-build SUPPORT_SMP=1 HEADER_DIR=/lib/modules/2.6.29.6-217.2.3.fc11.x86_64/build/include CC=/usr/lib64/ccache/gcc GREP=/usr/bin/make IS_GCC_3=no VMCCVER=4.4.0
    I'll see what VMWare has to say.

  5. #15
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    post the contents of the /tmp/vmware-root/setup-10367.log file

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    post the contents of the /tmp/vmware-root/setup-10367.log file
    That is the contents of the file. This was asked at the beginning of the thread
    Linux User #453176

  7. #17
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    I find it strange that there are no real indications of error. When you run this, can you open another terminal and run top and see if the script is consuming any CPU cycles? Unless the script just terminates at this point that is.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •