Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi, I'm using 'screen' software to open multiple shells in a single terminal. The problem I'm facing is that, if a command's output content is more than the current display, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    13

    screen command: How to get entire output?


    Hi,

    I'm using 'screen' software to open multiple shells in a single terminal. The problem I'm facing is that, if a command's output content is more than the current display, it doesn't show the top lines or upper lines.
    When i scroll upside, it shows mix of other screen shell's output.
    I tried to avoid it by using:
    defscrollback 2000.
    But no luck

    The options used in /etc/screenrc are:

    shell -${SHELL}
    hardstatus alwayslastline
    hardstatus string "%-w%{= BW}%50>%n %t%{-}%+w%<"
    defscrollback 2000
    bindkey -k k7 prev
    bindkey -k k8 next

    Is it possible to show complete output on screen shell

    Or any suggestions for other tools that will give facilities as screen

    Thank you,

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,380
    What is your LInux distribution+version, and what version of 'screen' are you running?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    The Linux distribution is CentOS, version is 5.2 (x86_64)

    The version of screen:
    # screen -v
    Screen version 4.00.03 (FAU) 23-Oct-06

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,380
    That's pretty close to what I'm running (CentOS 5.3 + screen v4.00.03). I take it that you are not running a GUI desktop? Unfortunately, I haven't used screen before so I am not familiar enough with how it should behave. I just diddled with it a bit to see how it would work, but not enough to tell you why you are having your specific problems.

    Anyway, the man page says to send bug reports, fixes, enhancements, pizza and beer to screen@uni-erlangen.de
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    I'm using a Desktop with Linux and a Server with Linux. From Desktop I'll login to Server using ssh (command line, Non-GUI) and then I'll start screen session using screen -S san -c /etc/screenrc.

    I've informed about this to screen@uni-erlangen.de.

    Thanks for your support

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •