Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Where do i get a java VM? How do i install a Java VM? I downloaded jre-1.3.1_08.i586.rpm from the sun website, when i click it redhat installs it on the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    15

    Newbie Java VM


    Where do i get a java VM?

    How do i install a Java VM?

    I downloaded jre-1.3.1_08.i586.rpm from the sun website, when i click it redhat installs it on the computer (so it says), but when i try and install limewire i get a message telling me to first install a Java Virtual Machine.

    Have i installed the write thing or what have i done wrong?

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    It is probably installed, it's only that Sun's JVM installs in strange places. Try running this, and then try again:
    Code:
    ln -s /usr/java/j2re*/bin/java /usr/bin/java

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    15

    I'm having the same problem.....

    I've installed the rpm - it's created the following directory - /usr/java/jre1.3.1_08/bin
    BUT when I type java I get unknown command.... what I am doing wrong ? I want to install a java .jar file....

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Most likely you havent got your java binary in you path, try to execute the direct path.

    Like

    Code:
    /usr/java/jre1.3.1_08/bin/java
    If that works, add that directory to you PATH environment variable in /etc/profile or in your .bash_profile in your homedirectory. Or perform the command that Dolda suggested, that should work for you to.



    Regards
    Regards

    Andutt

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK-Heart of Cheshire
    Posts
    31
    Also if is for a browswer u need to create a symbolic link to the java plugins, in the browers plugins directory. This needs to be smymbolic for mozilla otherwise the browser crashes.

    I have java and mozilla running fine now but am not on my linus machine to give the directories

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    15

    you boys....

    Thanks chaps ! that's cracked it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •