Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I think I totally screwed up Yahoo Messenger on my system. I'm using Red Hat 9, but dl'd the Red Hat 8 version. As I was a total newbie ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Screwed up YMessenger

Hi.

I think I totally screwed up Yahoo Messenger on my system. I'm using Red Hat 9, but dl'd the Red Hat 8 version. As I was a total newbie a week ago, I didn't quite catch that I needed GTKHtml or something like that to make it work. So I thought until today that the version just wasn't compatible.

Earlier yesterday though, I performed the following commands:

rpm -qa | grep ymessenger

then
    rpm -e ymessenger(package version that was reported)

After which I waited for about 3 minutes, but my root prompt never came back. I tried some commands, no go. After more waiting, I closed the console window.

Now, whenever I type the following:
    rpm -qa | grep ymessenger
    rpm -e ymessenger(package version)
    rpm -ivh ymessenger(package version)

my console locks up. There's no other recourse but to close it. Is messenger still removable/reinstallable?? HELP!!!

Linux Enthusiast
    try rpm -e ymessenger in the konsole

you could use gaim - you will need gkspell as a dependency to install it though

Just Joined!

Fixed

I got the problem fixed.

Oddly enough, I did something very "Windows".

In spite of logging in repeatedly and using terminal / konsole / you name it, I couldn't get it uninstalled.

Then I rebooted.

Weirdness.

It worked the the next time I typed it in.

Linux Enthusiast
    I wonder if it would have worked if you just logged out, hmm.
    You should check out gaim too when you get a chance if you use multiple messenger clients.

Just Joined!

gaim