Find the answer to your Linux question:

Thread: Flash player

Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Flash player

Hello,

Newbie here regarding Linux. I bought a netbook (VPC) which is basic netbook with limited features. It has a basic version of Linux (Linux 2.6.24 platform). My instruction booklet says it does not support Flash (player): Flash - The current browser does not support any Flash players. This will prevent viewing some web pages.
    Certain major websites have a simplified version on the server which will load up.

WHen I try to play games in flash, it does not work etiher. Browsing on the web also is very limited, i only see mobile (cell phone) versions??? (the instruction booklet does state this though) I cannot even put favorites ??

Is there a way that I can get Flash installed,or a better browser ? so I can play games that are on Facebook, etc. ? and view web sites like a "normal" human being should be viewing them on the web ?

Not sure if you need other info, if yes, let me know,
    This is what I figured out so far:
    Wi-Fi

Onboard USB and Ethernet ports

An SD reader

7″ TFT display with an 800×480 resolution

2GB of internal storage

100 MHz processor

Linux with preloaded programs such as internet browser, spreadsheet, word processor, a media player for movies, music and pictures, e-book reader, dictionary, calendar, PDF reader, email, chat, calculator, file manager

Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks

Eli

According to the Fidelity Electronics website

Flash - The current browser does not support any Flash players. This will prevent viewing some web pages.
    Certain major websites have a simplified version on the server which will load up.
    So you would not only need to install flash, but a different web browser. Whether that is possible...possibly not for flash, browser maybe, but not without work.