Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm majoring in computer science, and getting ready to take my first C++ class. The environment they're using is all windows, but I wanted to do my programming in Linux. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Getting ready to start programming, what's a good program to use.

I'm majoring in computer science, and getting ready to take my first C++ class. The environment they're using is all windows, but I wanted to do my programming in Linux. I was wanting to know what's a good programming suite that is comparable to MS Visual C++. I'm also curious about the portability of something I make in Linux, can I make a program in Linux and import it over to Windows, and what would be involved in making it compatible?

I'm using Ubuntu 9.1

So let's take the easy question first.

The portability of a C++ program depends on whether or not you use external libraries. If you only use the C++ Standard Library or the Standard Template Library, these are universal and included with all C++ compilers. Therefore, basic input/output and data structures are accessible everywhere.

However, many interesting things that you may program are helped by various third-party or platform-specific libraries. For instance, if you want to do any lower-level work, you may use glibc, which is a UNIX-specific library for working more directly with the system. Graphics libraries as well tend to be rather more specialized. It depends on the library; even some libraries will be cross-platform.

As for a good environment, many of us enjoy the simplicity of a terminal, a good editor like vi or Emacs, and gcc. If you want something a bit more graphical to get you started, there is a class of programs called IDEs (Integrated Development Environment) that may be a bit more familiar to you. Some popular ones are:

Anjuta - Anjuta Integrated Development Environment
    KDevelop - http://www.kdevelop.org/