Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I'm quite new at compiling, and was wondering if anyone could give me a hand in figuring out how to fix a prob involving the installation of xmms-mad-0.5.1.tar.gz. (I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

XMMS MAD plugin compiling help

Hi. I'm quite new at compiling, and was wondering if anyone could give me a hand in figuring out how to fix a prob involving the installation of xmms-mad-0.5.1.tar.gz. (I heard that the MAD plugin of XMMS does wonders compared to the stock mp3 codec rpm, though feel free to advise me otherwise). When attempting to configure it (./configure), I basically get a long process wherein I can identify two major errors.

First apparent error:
    checking for xmms-config... no
    checking for XMMS - version >= 1.2.4... no (my version is 1.2.7 but I guess this doesn't really matter)
    *** The xmms-config script installed by XMMS could not be found.
    *** If XMMS was installed in PREFIX, make sure PREFIX/bin is in
    *** your path, or set the XMMS_CONFIG environment variable to the
    *** full path to xmms-config.
    Doing a whereis for XMMS, I got the response:
    xmms: /usr/bin/xmms /usr/lib/xmms /usr/share/xmms /usr/share/man/man1/xmms.1.gz

I suppose the configurator wants to overwrite XMMS' config script to make it use the MAD plugin that's about to be installed. I'm not quite sure where I can locate XMMS' config script, but if I do, can I solve this by adding a path line to .bashrc?

Second apparent error:
    checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
    checking for gtk+... yes
    checking GTK_CFLAGS... -I/usr/include/gtk-1.2 -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/include/glib-1.2 -I/usr/lib/glib/include
    checking GTK_LIBS... -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lgtk -lgdk -lXi -lXext -lX11 -lm -lglib
    checking for id3tag... Package id3tag was not found in the pkg-config search path.
    Perhaps you should add the directory containing `id3tag.pc'