Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I followed the instructions for installing a program that are posted on the forums. when I typed in Code: ./confirure it returned this output Code: dillon-laptop ardour-2.8.7 # ./configure bash: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    11

    Installing Ardour. Please help.


    I followed the instructions for installing a program that are posted on the forums. when I typed in
    Code:
    ./confirure
    it returned this output
    Code:
    dillon-laptop ardour-2.8.7 # ./configure
    bash: ./configure: No such file or directory
    I dont know what to do I followed all the steps in the instructions for installing and this is the only problem I had.

    How to install software in linux is the instructions I followed

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    If you've not already done so, you might want to check your distro repositories for a package that has already been compiled for your distribution? That's usually the best way to install software, especially if you are new to Linux.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    11

    ?

    How do I do that

  4. #4
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    There should also be a file called README in the directory where you extracted the files.
    That usually has some info on anything different or extra that you might have to do.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #5
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by GrandDesign View Post
    How do I do that
    It would depend on the distribution and package manager/tool that you are using. For instance, I use Arch Linux and there is an Ardour package in the main repos for it that can be easily installed with pacman, the Arch package manager.
    oz

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    11
    Ok never mind I figured it out, its running great

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •