Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Lately my Gmail has been giving me a headache because google chat is not enabled. Google help is no help because disabling the chat feature is not something that they ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Is there a way to disable google chat in gmail?

Lately my Gmail has been giving me a headache because google chat is not enabled.
    Google help is no help because disabling the chat feature is not something that they have programed into their help section.

The html setting does not allow for the addition of contacts. The older version is also now a pain. It is real strange that my Seamonkey and Firefox browsers do not work well with gmail.

My Konqueror browser is now having problems with it. But the Epiphany browser, which I have never used for gmail before, seems to function much better but still gets hung up by google chat.

I will never use google chat ( is that a feature for cell phones and text messaging? ) so I want to disable it. Does anyone have any insight about this? Thanks!!
    PCLinuxOS Gnome and PCLinuxOS Mate
    Linux user # 414321
    You Should Not Give In To Evils, But Proceed Ever More Boldly Against Them!! -from book six of Virgil's Aeneid
    Everything Within The Universe Is Related; We Are All Cousins!!

oz
    forum.guy
    Isn't there a link that says "turn off chat" at the bottom of the window when you are logged into your gmail account, right below where it tells you how much space you now have on their mail servers? You should also find a "turn off buzz" link there.

Mine has them for each of my accounts and both features stay in the OFF mode at all times.
    oz

My Gmail account have an option link at left side Chat tab. It has a lot of modes including Sign out of Chat.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

oz
    forum.guy