Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place or not, but the Brasero project site was no help. I was hoping someone would be able to read this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    Cannot write audio CD with Brasero


    Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place or not, but the Brasero project site was no help. I was hoping someone would be able to read this error log better than I can. The full log is too long to post here (I could upload it somewhere if necessary) but here is the relevant part.

    Code:
    BraseroWodim stderr: Errno: 5 (Input/output error), write_g1 scsi sendcmd: no error
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: CDB:  2A 00 00 00 04 DA 00 00 1B 00
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: status: 0x2 (CHECK CONDITION)
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: Sense Bytes: 70 00 04 00 00 00 00 0A 34 10 04 80 09 01 00 00
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: Sense Key: 0x4 Hardware Error, Segment 0
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: Sense Code: 0x09 Qual 0x01 (tracking servo failure) Fru 0x0
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: Sense flags: Blk 0 (not valid) 
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: cmd finished after 0.023s timeout 200s
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: wodim: A write error occured.
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stderr: wodim: Please properly read the error message above.
    BraseroWodim called brasero_job_get_flags
    BraseroWodim stdout: Track 01:    2 of   36 MB written (fifo 100%) [buf  99%]  10.4x.
    I have Brasero version 2.30.2.

    What sort of "Hardware Error" is it?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    35
    That's hard !

    Please give: your linux distribution
    Your DVD recorder model
    What dmesg say about it

  3. #3
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    looks like your burner is failing to me, or maybe bad media, but more likely bad burner

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    I guessed as much. I'm running Ubuntu 10.04. I also have Vista duel-booted on it. When I have a bit more time, I'll try burning something with Vista, check if that's an issue also.

    If it is a bad burner, is there anything I can do about it? Get a new optical drive?

    fyi, dmesg produces the following, repeated over and over again.
    Code:
    [ 1538.742927] sr 1:0:0:0: [sr0] Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    [ 1538.742935] sr 1:0:0:0: [sr0] Sense Key : Illegal Request [current] 
    [ 1538.742941] Info fld=0x0
    [ 1538.742943] sr 1:0:0:0: [sr0] Add. Sense: Logical block address out of range
    [ 1538.742949] sr 1:0:0:0: [sr0] CDB: Read(10): 28 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00
    [ 1538.742958] end_request: I/O error, dev sr0, sector 0
    [ 1538.745046] sr 1:0:0:0: [sr0] Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    [ 1538.745055] sr 1:0:0:0: [sr0] Sense Key : Illegal Request [current]

  5. #5
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    check in vista and see what happens

    if it works then we'll have to continue to figure out what is going on

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    I tried it in Vista and, to my surprise, it worked. Well, sort of: I burned a CD with Windows Media Player, and it burned properly with no errors. However, the CD didn't play in my stereo. The contents are on the CD though, so that is more of a Media Player being stupid and not making a proper audio CD, rather than a burner problem.

    The mystery remains; why isn't it burning on Linux?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    I figured I would try burning a CD on linux with a different program, so I installed GnomeBaker CD/DVD Writer, and it worked perfectly!

    So it must be a problem with Brasero, but I'm content to just use a different program and leave it at that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •