Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I am trying to install firefox 1. I have allready extracted the tar.gz file. When i go to the directory and type Code: ./configure i get Code: bash: ./configure: No ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    83

    Problem installing Firefox 1


    I am trying to install firefox 1. I have allready extracted the tar.gz file. When i go to the directory and type
    Code:
     ./configure
    i get
    Code:
     bash: ./configure: No such file or directory
    Can someone please help me with this.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    After you extract the file, enter the folder FireFox has made something like 'firefox-installer' and click on the shell script file 'firefox-installer', this should start a graphical install for you.

    hope this helps;
    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    83
    Tried to install using the GUI but when i click the installer file, nothing happens.

    Any other suggustions

    Thank you in advance for the help.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    83
    Found the problem, just had to use
    Code:
     ./firefox-installer
    instead of
    Code:
     ./configure
    Thanx anyway

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    19
    yup, go with the ./firefox-installer

    I'd recommend though that you back up your bookmarks just in case too.

    [and delete the directory that it's going into as well[

  7. #6
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    I lost all my bookmarks having a blackout on the block, the PC went down and when the power came back, i turned it on and Mozilla changed it's skin and got back to defaults. Really weird huh?

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Quote Originally Posted by sheds
    I lost all my bookmarks having a blackout on the block, the PC went down and when the power came back, i turned it on and Mozilla changed it's skin and got back to defaults. Really weird huh?
    It could be that it found that the profile was locked, and so it created a new one and used that. Check in your ~/.mozilla directory and see if you have multiple profiles in there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •