Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I am new to linux and having trouble figuring out how to install software. but I am getting an error permission denied when i use command ./setup I think I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6

    permission denied on ./setup


    I am new to linux and having trouble figuring out how to install software. but I am getting an error permission denied when i use command ./setup

    I think I am logged in correctly as root.. and I am in the correct directory, why am i getting a permission denied error?

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hello and Welcome.
    One reason could be is that the file does not has execute privileges.
    You should be able to see all file permissions with the command
    Code:
    ls -la
    If you need to make it executable check out the man page for chmod
    Code:
    man chmod
    Which program are you installing, perhaps we can be of assistance.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    I am trying to install autodesk Maya
    Im not sure what this all means after typing ls -la

    Code:
    root@Miclepickle2:/home/miclepickle/Desktop/maya/Maya/Linux-64# ls -la
    total 248008
    drwxr-xr-x 5 miclepickle miclepickle      4096 2010-10-24 18:16 .
    drwxr-xr-x 6 miclepickle miclepickle      4096 2008-09-12 15:18 ..
    -rw-r--r-- 1 miclepickle miclepickle   1169150 2008-08-05 10:26 AWCommon-11.5-19.i686.rpm
    -rw-r--r-- 1 miclepickle miclepickle   1138242 2008-08-05 10:26 AWCommon-server-11.5-19.i686.rpm
    drwxr-xr-x 2 miclepickle miclepickle      4096 2008-09-12 15:17 EULA
    -rw-r--r-- 1 miclepickle miclepickle 243807406 2008-09-05 14:37 Maya2009_0_64-docs_en_US-2009.0-63.x86_64.rpm
    -rw-r--r-- 1 miclepickle miclepickle   7809748 2008-07-29 10:13 setup
    -rw-r--r-- 1 miclepickle miclepickle      3554 2008-07-29 10:13 setupbar.png
    -rw-r--r-- 1 miclepickle miclepickle      2004 2008-07-29 10:13 setup.xml
    drwxr-xr-x 2 miclepickle miclepickle      4096 2008-09-12 15:18 support
    drwxr-xr-x 3 miclepickle miclepickle      4096 2010-10-24 18:14 usr
    root@Miclepickle2:/home/miclepickle/Desktop/maya/Maya/Linux-64#

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    It looks like The setup file is not executable, are you sure this is the correct way to install Maya, does it come with documentation?Which distro are you using?
    I would try as root, or use sudo.
    Code:
    chmod +x setup
    Then try running setup again.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    1. Log in as root.
    2. Insert the Maya DVD into your drive.
    3. Mount the DVD drive, if necessary.
    4. Type: ./setup

    The Maya 2009 Installer opens.
    5. In the License Agreement Window, click I Accept. The agreement requires your acceptance for the Maya software installation to continue. Click Next.
    6. In the Autodesk Product Configuration Window, select the components you want to install.

    Select whether you want to install Autodesk Maya 2009, the Autodesk Maya 2009 Documentation and the Autodesk License Tools (default). Click Next.
    7. In the Autodesk Product Configuration Window, click Done.

    Checkmarks icons display next to the completed installed products.
    that is the documentation that autodesk has online, I thought I was in root, i used su then typed pw which changed my username from miclepickle to root@miclepickle.


    i tried chmod +x setup then ./setup again and it could not find file, so i did chmod -x setup and it got me back to permission denied.

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Once you login as root, you probably changed directories too. Login as root first, then remember to "cd" back into the correct directory.
    Code:
    cd /home/miclepickle/Desktop/maya/Maya/Linux-64
    Code:
    chmod +x setup
    Code:
    ./setup
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    yeah I changed directories after logging in as root.

    this is what happens when i do chmod +x setup, ./setup,
    Code:
    root@Miclepickle2:/home/miclepickle/Desktop/maya/Maya/Linux-64# ls -a
    .  ..  AWCommon-11.5-19.i686.rpm  AWCommon-server-11.5-19.i686.rpm  EULA  Maya2009_0_64-docs_en_US-2009.0-63.x86_64.rpm  setup  setupbar.png  setup.xml  support  usr
    root@Miclepickle2:/home/miclepickle/Desktop/maya/Maya/Linux-64# chmod +x setup
    root@Miclepickle2:/home/miclepickle/Desktop/maya/Maya/Linux-64# ./setup
    bash: ./setup: No such file or directory
    (before chmod +x setup it said "permission denied")

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Well change it back.
    Code:
    chmod -x setup
    Clearly that was not the problem, Is there more instructions involved?
    Does your system use sudo? If so then try
    Code:
    sudo ./setup
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    oh, i forgot to say what distro i am... im on ubuntu studio.

    it said "command not found"

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    chmod +x file would help.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •