Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys, i need some assistence with choosing the right OS and how to go about what i am trying to do. I need to set up a Radius server ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with setting up a Radius server

Hey guys, i need some assistence with choosing the right OS and how to go about what i am trying to do.

I need to set up a Radius server for use in an ISP which will be wireless internet only.

I had thought to use Centos maybe and install and somehow configure Freeradius.

I have little experience with Linux, but am a Windows Admin, and use Linux a little.

My questions would be: Is there a best distro that i should use?? I have used Ubuntu the most, but not sure if it is best to use for this project.

Freeradius website has documentation but it doesnt tell me much about how to get it all up and running, What we want is Authentication and Accounting and from what i can see Freeradius is a good option? Is there anything better that i can use? We will be eventually having approximately 5000 clients.

I cant find any good tutorials on getting this all up and working, so would really appreciate all the help i can get here!!

Best distro is subjective, I'm afraid. It really depends on your needs. CentOS or other RHEL based distros are popular as servers because of their reputation for stability and their long term support, something like 5-7 years for CentOS/RHEL vs something like 13 months for Fedora, say.

Ubuntu 10.04 is a long term support release, and could make a find option also. The server version has support until April 2015.

I have no experience with Radius Servers so I can't help you out there. You've seen the RHEL FAQ on the freeradius wiki?

Build a RADIUS server on Linux

Just Joined!

In desperate need of help!! - WiFi Authentication/Hotspot

I have no idea what i need to do and the more i read the more confused i am getting.. Please shed some light..