Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am completely new to this. I have been looking around for a, "start new thread" button but cant seem to find it (which is my first question). My ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

how do I delete a word in a vim file

Hi, I am completely new to this. I have been looking around for a, "start new thread" button but cant seem to find it (which is my first question). My real question is, how do I delete a word in a vim file from the editor command? What I want to do is go to a specific line (36) and delete 3 words after my cursor

i.e :36 | 3dw

error: "3dw" is not a command. Ive tried ":d" this deletes teh whole line which is not what I want. Thanks

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

I've moved your post and started a new thread with it.

Quote Originally Posted by carm8 View Post
    I have been looking around for a, "start new thread" button but cant seem to find it (which is my first question).
    You can find the answer to that and other questions about how the forums work by checking this thread:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/fee...ng-forums.html
    oz

Welcome to the forums!

I could of course say you want to type d3w, but better is to point you to the command `vimtutor` which will allow you to learn and practise these and other vim commands
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Thanks guys I really appreciate it.

Just Joined!
    Found the command I was looking for.

:%norm dw

(allows u to input command as if you were to type it).

i.e :36norm 3dw

Just Joined!
    ok I'm running into more problems, so i'll explain the full scope of what I am trying to do.