Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Guys, I am a junior linux engineer, I really do not how to install such software kit, as no script like "setup.sh" or docs like "Readme"! There is a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to install such software kit?

Hi Guys, I am a junior linux engineer, I really do not how to install such software
    kit, as no script like "setup.sh" or docs like "Readme"!

There is a software install kit including a couple of directories as follows:
    * /bin
    * /flexlm
    * /jre
    * /lib

Especially, in "bin" folder, there are many file more than ten but without ".bin"
    suffix.

Q1: Are those bin files install files?
    Q2: Should I execute those bin files one by one? Any sequence requirement?

Why "jre" folder is there? Should I install it as well? What is the purpose?

Many thanks!

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Hi and welcome to the forum.

It could be that your package is prebuilt and self contained. In that case, you do not install the package in the traditional sense. You just execute the commands in */bin to run the applications in the package.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post
    Hi and welcome to the forum.

It could be that your package is prebuilt and self contained. In that case, you do not install the package in the traditional sense. You just execute the commands in */bin to run the applications in the package.

Many thanks!

However, it is actually a large scale tool, I assumed it should be installed prior to run rather than execute bin file.

Obviously, it requires "license" and that folder called "flexlm" addresses license management. Anyway, I confused so many bin files and how to install in place?

Anyone who can help?