Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
It was easy on the 32 bit system, but it wont do it through the terminal or through the software center. I get this: Package virtualbox is not available, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Miss_Innocent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Thunder Bay Ontario CaNaDa :D
    Posts
    13

    Installing Virtualbox on 64 Bit Ubuntu proving to be difficult


    It was easy on the 32 bit system, but it wont do it through the terminal or through the software center. I get this:

    Package virtualbox is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source
    E: Package virtualbox has no installation candidate

    Can someone please give me some suggestions? I pulled an all nighter last night and I'm not thinking clearly or something.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Well according to this link, you may need to adjust your repos.
    Linux_Downloads - VirtualBox
    Debian-based Linux distributions

    Note: VirtualBox has been moved from non-free to contrib with 4.0, so please adjust your repository settings.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Miss_Innocent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Thunder Bay Ontario CaNaDa :D
    Posts
    13
    Error: Cannot install 'libqt4-network' When I download the appropriate package for my distro.

    I'm going to sleep on this one and think it through in the morning far too tired to compete with my computer right now. *laughs*

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Can you find libqt4-network if you search your package manager??
    I'm going to sleep on this one and think it through in the morning far too tired to compete with my computer right now. *laughs*
    HAHA, uh, I hate to inform you of this but you won't be able to "Compete" with your computer tomorrow either. These darn things are sooooo smart.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Just Joined! Miss_Innocent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Thunder Bay Ontario CaNaDa :D
    Posts
    13
    Ah fer feck sakes. Trying to install libqt4-network yields:

    This error could be caused by required additional software packages being missing or not-installable. Alternatively, there could be a conflict between software packages that are not allowed to be installed at the same time.

  7. #6
    Just Joined! Miss_Innocent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Thunder Bay Ontario CaNaDa :D
    Posts
    13
    Lynzii - 1 Linux - 0


    sudo dpkg -P --force-all libqt4-dbus libqt4-network libqt4-script libqt4-sql libqt4-sql-mysql libqt4-svg libqt4-xml libqtcore4 libqtgui4

    sudo apt-get install -f

    Vola I have Virtualbox 4.0

  8. #7
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Nice!
    Thanks for posting your solution, I'm sure it'll come in handy for others too.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #8
    Just Joined! Miss_Innocent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Thunder Bay Ontario CaNaDa :D
    Posts
    13
    Might add to that.

    In the updates manager settings to check the box that says: Unsupported Updates ((your distro)-backports)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •