Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
I foolishly installed pysdm to get a partition to auto mount and now have a variety of mounting issues I have not been able to figure out. My primary issue ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92

    [SOLVED] fstab mtab mounting issues


    I foolishly installed pysdm to get a partition to auto mount and now have a variety of mounting issues I have not been able to figure out. My primary issue is I now have two files in /media that are not partitions but look like my system struggling to mount them causing a startup error message.

    The correct mount should be /dev/sdb2 /media/Data Storage
    The two bad entries in /media:
    Data\
    Data\040Storage

    My fstab entries look accurate and I have a whole collection of partitions that mount correctly. This was working fine but recently decided not to work. I don't see any reference in fstab to the above directories but wonder if the spaced in the name is causing some heartburn all of a sudden??

    Here is my fstab entry:
    /dev/sdb2 /media/Data\ Storage ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0

    Any help?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post all the contents of /etc/fstab file and output of fdisk -l command here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92
    /etc \>-- cat fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>

    proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda5 :
    UUID=6b3c1db3-68c6-4173-af0f-0c5b45a70cd9 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    #Entry for /dev/sdb1 :
    UUID=A2725BD3725BAAB5 /media/Bootable_Backup ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sdb2 :
    #UUID=80F6E9A8F6E99F22 /media/Data\ Storage ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda4 :
    UUID=78DACA7DDACA3762 /media/RECOVERY ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda1 :
    UUID=BC4AF0E74AF09F78 /media/SYSTEM ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda6 :
    UUID=60c7ee48-6cdb-4d9b-8ca6-204f580ec499 none swap sw 0 0


    /dev/sda7 /media/Virtualbox ext3 errors=remount-ro,users,user_xattr,user 0 0
    /dev/sdb2 /media/Data\ Storage ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92
    how do I get "output of fdisk -l"? It doesn't seem to do anything... Sorry, newbie...

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,045
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    also suggest you post output of
    Code:
    mount
    as well.

  7. #6
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92
    /etc \>-- fdisk -l
    /etc \>-- mount
    /dev/sda5 on / type ext4 (rw,errors=remount-ro,commit=0)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
    none on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    none on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,mode=0755)
    none on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    /dev/sdb1 on /media/Bootable_Backup type fuseblk (rw,locale=en_US.utf
    /dev/sda4 on /media/RECOVERY type fuseblk (rw,locale=en_US.utf
    /dev/sda1 on /media/SYSTEM type fuseblk (rw,locale=en_US.utf
    /dev/sda7 on /media/Virtualbox type ext3 (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,errors=remount-ro,user_xattr,commit=0)
    binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/bonestdog/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=bonestdog)
    /dev/sdb2 on /media/Data Storage type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,blksize=4096)

  8. #7
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92
    Here is what is listed in /media. You can see the Data\ and Data\040Storage. I can not remove them, cd to them or interact with them at all.

    /media \>-- ls -1
    Bootable_Backup
    Data\
    Data\040Storage
    Data Storage
    RECOVERY
    SYSTEM
    Virtualbox

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the output of this
    Code:
    cd /media/Data
    ls -l
    I have never tried mount point have space in it's name.
    There must be some problem while parsing escape sequence /Data\ Storage.
    Have you tried create new folder, Data_Storage and mount partition?
    Try this
    Code:
    cd /media
    sudo mkdir Data_Storage
    Edit /etc/fstab file. Replace /media/Data\ Storage with /media/Data_Storage. Reboot machine.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined! bonesTdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    92
    OK, I am learning....

    These entries ARE in fact directories! I need to input Data\\ and Data\\040Storage to work with them. Two backslashes is the key. Can I simply delete them? Is the system trying to load/mount them since they are in the /media folder but not finding them in fstab and creating an error? it is all starting to make sense and I think I should delete them but am afraid of messing something else up...

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Is the system trying to load/mount them since they are in the /media folder but not finding them in fstab and creating an error?
    You can mount any partition anywhere and Linux doesn't look specifically in /media/ folder for that.
    During boot up, Linux check /etc/fstab file and mount partitions according to instructions given in /etc/fstab file. If you replace /media/xyz with /Windows/C, Linux will mount partition at /Windows/C. There is one condition, folder (mount_point) /Windows/C must exist.

    Have you tried to edit /etc/fstab file and replace Data Storage with Data_Storage?
    Could you post the output of ls -l /media/Data_Storage here?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •