Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 61
it actually won't update because of a main.cvd header error or something. Anyway I tried moving the infected file and it said no such file or directory as /tmp/virus...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60

    it actually won't update because of a main.cvd header error or something. Anyway I tried moving the infected file and it said no such file or directory as /tmp/virus

  2. #22
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by linuxuser1232 View Post
    it actually won't update because of a main.cvd header error or something.
    What version of ClamAV is this?
    Code:
    clamscan --version
    Anyway I tried moving the infected file and it said no such file or directory as /tmp/virus
    Because the command that you used doesn't move the files. It automatically removes them.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    i don't know a really old one. And no I used the move command you said earlier!

  4. #24
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by linuxuser1232 View Post
    i don't know a really old one. And no I used the move command you said earlier!
    Okay. First things first, you'll want a newer version. Up-to-date is always better.

    And for the move command, did you create the directory before starting the scan?
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /tmp/virus
    Then:
    Code:
    sudo clamscan -v -r --move /tmp/virus /
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    We'll my IT friend never said anything about a newer version. he said it is fine. Anyway, no i did not create a new directory but when i did
    Code:
     ls /
    it said there was already a tmp folder

  6. #26
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by linuxuser1232 View Post
    We'll my IT friend never said anything about a newer version. he said it is fine. Anyway, no i did not create a new directory but when i did
    Code:
     ls /
    it said there was already a tmp folder
    Right... /tmp, but not /tmp/virus.
    If you like, these can be modified for your ease of use. That's a directory that I like to use. You can use the default /tmp if you like.
    Code:
    sudo clamscan -v -r --move /tmp /

    My version is 0.97.3.
    Code:
    root@jason:~# clamscan --version
    ClamAV 0.97.3/15119/Sun Jul  8 17:59:06 2012
    Older versions may not have the same virus definitions, so may not catch newer malware. Just a word of caution.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    oh ok. and is this supposed to scan my files for viruses again cause that's what it's doing. That means another 4 hours...

  8. #28
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    yep... another waiting game. But if it makes you feel better, when I was first playing with Clam and its options, I used up a whole weekend.

    As far as a newer version, though... here's a good option for you.
    PartedMagic
    Wonderful LiveCD full of recovery tools, partitioning programs... and ClamAV. I always keep a copy handy.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  9. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    Ohhhh wow haha! Ya so in the future i should use this move command instead of just scanning it? Because with the commands that I was instructed with (I will post later) it just scans my Windows Vista disk(sda1) and then shows the Summary. With the move command will it scan and move my infected files to /tmp/virus?

  10. #30
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Now ya got it! And by moving the infected files, you can see exactly what they are.
    So if you have a client, you can tell them what PDF or mpeg was the culprit.
    And you still get the Summary at the end of the whole thing.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •