Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I updated my version of Firefox today from what ever debian iceweasel was (3.6) i think to firefox 15.0.1 via manually installing from a tarball and i was in the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    129

    I can not find the firefox plugin directory for firefox 15.0.1


    I updated my version of Firefox today from what ever debian iceweasel was (3.6) i think to firefox 15.0.1 via manually installing from a tarball and i was in the process of configuring it when i realized that i can not install any of my plugins via symbolic links. To test i made symbolic links to both java and flash in multiple places:
    /home/USER/.mozilla/plugins
    /home/USER/.mozilla/firefox/plugins
    /opt/firefox/plugins
    /root/.mozilla/plugins
    /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
    /usr/lib/firefox/plugins
    /usr/lib/xulrunner/plugins
    /usr/lib/xulrunner.1.9.1/plugins

    any yet firefox does not detect a plugin.
    Has anyone run into this problem and fixed it?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,991
    Code:
    $ locate libflashplayer.so
    /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/libflashplayer.so
    But that is in AntiX since I don't know what you are running.

    $ cd /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
    @biker:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins$ ls
    flash-mozilla.so libjavaplugin.so xineplugin.so
    gxineplugin.so libvlcplugin.so
    You can use the locate command to find

    Code:
    $locate libjavaplugin.so
    /usr/lib/firefox/plugins/libjavaplugin.so
    /usr/lib/iceape/plugins/libjavaplugin.so
    /usr/lib/iceweasel/plugins/libjavaplugin.so
    /usr/lib/midbrowser/plugins/libjavaplugin.so
    /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin.so
    /usr/lib/xulrunner/plugins/libjavaplugin.so
    /usr/lib/xulrunner-addons/plugins/libjavaplugin.so
    $
    Last edited by rokytnji; 09-13-2012 at 02:43 PM.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    129
    That works but it does not actually solve my problem. To be clearer my problem is not locating plugins for firefox my problem is locating where firefox scans every location comes up with a hit however firefox says i have no plugins. So what ever directory firefox is looking is returns a zero.

    Also i know the plugins work as they worked on firefox 3.6 and they are working on a debian version of seamonkey just not firefox

  4. #4
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,991
    Well, all my plugins whether using Iceweasel, Firefox, Opera, or Iceape are all found in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins folder. Whether Firefox 15.01 or Iceweasel 10.0.6esr-2, or iceape 2.7.5-1.

    Posting from right now with a static install of Firefox 15.01 in
    Code:
    $ cd /opt
    harry@biker:/opt$ ls
    firefox  lxmed
    Maybe you got a corrupted external Firefox download, or is this Iceweasel from the repos?


    what version of Iceweasel? apt-cache policy iceweasel command should show what you upgraded to.

    Edit:
    Has anyone run into this problem and fixed it?
    No. No problem here.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    129
    iceweasel was from the repos
    Do you have a directory of /opt/firefox/plugins

  6. #6
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,991
    Do you have a directory of /opt/firefox/plugins
    No. I do not. I don't pull in plugins from .mozillia/plugins either. All my plugins are recognised from /usr/ib/mozilla/plugins folder.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    129
    Then i dont understand what is wrong with my copy i just double checked and added my plugins to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and nothing... Are you running a 32 bit install or 64 bit install OS? i am running 64 bit but im installing 64 bit plugins so i wouldnt need nswrapper would i?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,991
    My computers are mostly ancient. 32 bit installs.

    ndiswrapper does not handle plugins. You don't need ndiswrapper for plugins any hows.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  9. #9
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,991
    Code:
    harry@biker:~
    $ apt-cache policy iceweasel
    iceweasel:
      Installed: 10.0.7esr-1
      Candidate: 10.0.7esr-1
      Version table:
     *** 10.0.7esr-1 0
            500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing/main i386 Packages
            100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
    harry@biker:~
    $ uname -a
    Linux biker 3.3.5-antix.1-486-smp #1 SMP Wed May 9 16:44:25 EEST 2012 i686 GNU/Linux
    harry@biker:~
    $ cd /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
    harry@biker:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
    $ ls
    flash-mozilla.so          gecko-mediaplayer-qt.so  gecko-mediaplayer.so
    gecko-mediaplayer-dvx.so  gecko-mediaplayer-rm.so  gecko-mediaplayer-wmp.so
    harry@biker:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
    I don't have java installed on this desktop install.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    129
    Is there a enviromental variable that points to that directory

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •