Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi. sorry about the title but I couldn't put it in other words. I started programming in linux in college and of course my tutor gave us help in signing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Lightbulb I want to know how people know their password to sign into putty.

Hi. sorry about the title but I couldn't put it in other words. I started programming in linux in college and of course my tutor gave us help in signing in etc. now, i have downloaded putty and want to sign in. it says" enter login username:" thats grand because that part worked and then all of a sudden BANG! IT ASKS FOR A PASSWORD. what is the password?? how do i find this password. i have searched the length and breadth of the internet for an answer but nothing and im really annoyed. I tried changing my computers password by going on command prompt and typing in net user and then going from there to change the password. i went back to try this password out and it says "access denied" again. please please please help. all i want to do is start programming and i cant because of this

Putty connects to another computer. The text you see on the screen in putty after you connect comes from another computer.

The password (and the logon name) you use when connecting are the ones that have been set on that remote computer. If your teacher has helped you through this before, he should have access to your password, or at least should know how to reset it to something that you know and can remember.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Just Joined!