Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am new to using Puppet, and recently installed puppetmaster and puppet(client) on my Ubuntu server. (both on the same host). I installed using apt-get install. Now, when I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Installation and configuration of puppet

Hi,

I am new to using Puppet, and recently installed puppetmaster and puppet(client) on my Ubuntu server. (both on the same host). I installed using apt-get install.

Now, when I want to remove those packages, I used apt-get --purge remove puppetmaster puppet to remove the package and its configuration files as well.

However, after I do this, the /etc/puppet directory still exists, and even the puppet.conf file also exists.

Is this normal, or is there something I did not do right that the directory still exists??

Also, is it possible to install both puppet master and client in the same host? In the puppet.conf, under agent and master, I use the certname as [localhost] and
    [localhost] respectively? Or if there is a better solution to configuring master and client on the same server, please guide me.

Thanks in advance,
    Aigini
    Last edited by anaigini45; 10-21-2012 at 02:43 PM.

Package managers group files in classes.
    Regular files, man pages, configuration files, etc.
    The reason for this is, that you do want to update binaries but not necessarily configfiles.
    And even if you remove a package, you probably want to keep your configfiles to not loose the work on them.

You specified --purge, so yes: Even configfiles are removed.
    The reason why the directory remains is probably because there are still files in it.
    Or more specific: There are files in it, that are not covered by the package.
    Hence the package manager does not delete the dir as a protective measure.

Yes, it is possible to manage the puppetmaster itself, ie: run the agent on it.
    This is actually a good idea.