Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have finally got my Linux (Debian) on line. I have been using apt-get to put some types of packages on the machine. However these were lines I copied from ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

apt-get package_name proper name of package?

I have finally got my Linux (Debian) on line. I have been using apt-get to put some types of packages on the machine. However these were lines I copied from or were given to me.

I am a Ham Radio operator and found a few programs that I'd like to load and are in a package I believe is called 'hamradio' . When I attempt

Code:
    apt-get install hamradio
    It says it cannot find the package. How do I find the package name and use it to fetch the proper package. I attempted to read the docs but they seem to think you know the package and I thought I did, but the results are not what was expected.

Any ideas?

I found a specif piece of software called 'predict' that is used to track satellites, but it's in a 'hamradio' package (I found in Debian). Anyway I've tried both ways and still can't seem to get it. Is there a way to get aptitude to do this from the GUI?

Thanks

Jack

Linux Guru
    For general searching, you can use:

Code:
    apt-cache search ham
    You can filter that further with something like grep:

Code:
    apt-cache search ham | grep radio
    But predict is its own install (this is using the default Ubuntu 12.04 repos.)

Code:
    predict - Satellite Tracking Program with Optional Voice Output
    predict-gsat - Graphical Satellite Tracking Client Program

Code:
    $ apt-cache search hamradio
    ax25-tools - tools for AX.25 interface configuration
    ax25-xtools - tools for AX.25 interface configuration -- X11-based
    cqrlog - Advanced logging program for hamradio operators
    fldigi - digital modem program for hamradio operators
    gcb - Utility to calculate long and short path to a location