Find the answer to your Linux question:
For the longest time, I did any diff comparisons manually but then started using vimdiff because of its power and ease of use on the command line in consoles. Recently, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    oz
    forum.guy

diff comparison tools

For the longest time, I did any diff comparisons manually but then started using vimdiff because of its power and ease of use on the command line in consoles. Recently, I started playing around with Meld and found it to be totally awesome as a GUI diff tool.

Are there any other free diff tools that you guys would recommend as equal or better than those two? Thanks...
    oz

Well, there is diff3.
    Then cmp, which is more geared towards binary files.
    Any revision control like git and svn also have their diffs.
    Also some tools that can show diffs of db structures such as mysql or sqlite diffs.
    Or picture/music diffs.
    So the question is rather: What is missing

Notes:
    - There is diffuse, which is a graphical diff like meld.
    - For my usecases, I tend to stay with diff. I managed several times to overwhelm meld with data, so it became very slow.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello, Irithori

I'm definitely going to look at diff3, and will be taking a closer look at diffuse, which I've only seen in screenshots thus far. While it's not happened to me yet, you are the second person that has mentioned Meld bogging down under a heavy load, so I might do some testing in that regard. Luckily, most of the comparisons that I do are relatively small in nature, but I want an app that can handle larger jobs if needed.

Thank you.
    oz

drl
    Saint Paul, MN, USA / CentOS, Debian, Slackware, {Free, Open, Net}BSD, Solaris
    Hi, oz.