Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
I'm running Slack 10.0 with GNU Midnight Commander 4.6.0. When I try to open any directory in my home directory with it I get the following error: Warning: Cannot change ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3 electrons N. of the 2nd nutrino on the Right
    Posts
    13

    Midnight Commander blues


    I'm running Slack 10.0 with GNU Midnight Commander 4.6.0. When I try to open any directory in my home directory with it I get the following error:Warning: Cannot change to /home/foobar/any_directory. Basically any folder within /home/foobar/ produces this error

    It does however change to that directory and show me the contents.

    I originally thought it was because the home directory was chmod'ed to 700 so I change it to 744, problem still persisted. Changed it to 755; same thing. This doesn't happens when I go to the /home directory but when I go back into my directory it gives that error. I've tried different permissions on the directories in my home but still no reprieve.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    try a fresh reinstall of mc

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3 electrons N. of the 2nd nutrino on the Right
    Posts
    13
    Is there anyway to find out why this is happening, first? Or at least what got goofed up. I know that may sound kind of silly but I'm curious like that.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    yeah, i know what you mean.
    but honestly i've used mc <50 times, so i'm not guru with it.
    but a lot of times a fresh install does things good.
    out of curiosity, how did you install mc (i.e. source, rpm, etc.)
    -lakerdonald

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3 electrons N. of the 2nd nutrino on the Right
    Posts
    13
    used 'installpkg' and installed the package directly from the install CD

  6. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    was there anything unusual which happened during the install?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3 electrons N. of the 2nd nutrino on the Right
    Posts
    13
    no errors or failures if that is what you're referring to. See the problem is very likely something that I've done myself, (now there's a surprise, someone openly admitting, "Yup, it was me that screwed it up") since it doesn't happen when I use anther user login or if for any reason using a root login.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    if i remember correctly, mc creates a configuration file in your home directory? why don't you delete that file, so that mc starts fresh.
    just a suggestion

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3 electrons N. of the 2nd nutrino on the Right
    Posts
    13
    just tried that. I moved the ~/.mc directory and restarted mc. ~/.mc was recreated but error still occured.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    hmmm
    that's strange. have you googled it?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •