Find the answer to your Linux question:
First of all, I'm a linux newbie. I installed Qt in a folder in my home (just downloaded the Qt 4.8 package and compiled it there). I'm trying to compile ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problem linking Qt libraries

First of all, I'm a linux newbie. I installed Qt in a folder in my home (just downloaded the Qt 4.8 package and compiled it there). I'm trying to compile another application (gml2pic, to convert graphs in drawings) which needs Qt. The instructions say to first generate a Makefile with qmake, which I did, no problems so far. The problem is that when executing 'make' to compile the code, i get an error from the linker that "-lQtSvg" can't be found. The same applies to "-lQtCore" and "-lQtGui". I do not know how to tell the linker where those libraries are. The Qt folder has a "lib" subfolder with .la files (which I guess are the libraries?). Any ideas on how to fix this?

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Quote Originally Posted by skiforfun View Post
    First of all, I'm a linux newbie. I installed Qt in a folder in my home (just downloaded the Qt 4.8 package and compiled it there). I'm trying to compile another application (gml2pic, to convert graphs in drawings) which needs Qt. The instructions say to first generate a Makefile with qmake, which I did, no problems so far. The problem is that when executing 'make' to compile the code, i get an error from the linker that "-lQtSvg" can't be found. The same applies to "-lQtCore" and "-lQtGui". I do not know how to tell the linker where those libraries are. The Qt folder has a "lib" subfolder with .la files (which I guess are the libraries?). Any ideas on how to fix this?