Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I recently got an mp3 player and need to set up some programs for it on my computer (running Fedora Core). An installation CD came with the player. It says ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    68

    CD autoplay issues


    I recently got an mp3 player and need to set up some programs for it on my computer (running Fedora Core). An installation CD came with the player. It says right on the CD that once the disc is inserted, the installation process should start up, but that isn't happening. The CD mounts and all, but it won't install. I clciked the CD icon on the desktop to try to do it manually, but there's a lot of stuff in there, and I wouldn't know where to start. Is there any way to get the installation process running? If not, is there any other way I can get this stuff on my computer?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    open up a terminal as root, or if you are not root do:
    Code:
    su -
    then, post the output of:
    Code:
    cd /mnt/cdrom
    ls

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    232
    You are aware, are you not, that software written for Windows won't install or run on Linux? Not natively, anyway.
    There are very few(so few that I can't think of any) hardware vendors who ship Linux software with their hardware.
    OH NOOOOO!!!!!! You did it the way I said?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    i decicded to ignore that, in hopes that maybe it was linux. hehe

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    68
    Yeah, I think it's written for windows. I was hoping against hope there was some way around it.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    yeah.
    install wine

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    68
    Alright, I downloaded and installed the Wine RPM. Where is it on my computer now?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    just run:
    Code:
    wine programname
    although it's rarely that simple.
    try:
    Code:
    man wine

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    68
    when I do "man wine" a bunch of info comes up on the wine program. What am I looking for?

  10. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    i'm just saying that man wine is a good reference

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •