Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
In FF, top shows plugin-containe, in chrome top shows chrome. Any fixes? Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! asand1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    47

    CPU 70-100%, RAM 30-45% web browsing


    In FF, top shows plugin-containe, in chrome top shows chrome. Any fixes?

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    673
    What else do you have running? I'm compling multiple applications and running firefox and top does not even show up (ccp1plus and emerge are present).

  3. #3
    Just Joined! asand1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    47
    Nothing but the browsers one at a time. Running mint 17.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by asand1; 08-26-2014 at 11:52 AM.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Hinesville, GA USA
    Posts
    241
    What distro? What hardware? What DE? What browser add-ons if any? Just idling with no programs open the resources used vary a bunch depending what DE you're running. The reason I never became fond of Mate as a DE is the CPU would run wild at random times. While 30-45% RAM is a big deal on boxes with 4GB RAM, it ain't much on a 1GB box - everything is relative...

  6. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,649
    Disable all plug-ins and extensions
    Close Firefox
    Run killall plugin-container from the terminal
    Start Firefox
    Does the same thing happen?
    Yes - Post back here
    No - Re-enable plug-ins and extensions one at a time until you find the culprit
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  7. #6
    Just Joined! asand1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    47
    Mint xfce, AMD Sempron 3000+ 2.08ghz, 1gb ddr333, AGP nvidia 6600, Asus K8N.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by asand1; 08-26-2014 at 04:24 PM.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    917
    You're running a relatively ancient computer.

    You should switch to a much lighter distor, such as Crunchbang. Your desktop environment is eating some of your CPU/RAM, so you'll want to use the smallest one possible with limited resources. I would use a lightweight browser for most surfing, and only use chrome/ff when you need flash/java on a particular page.

  9. #8
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,649
    I would suggest Bodhi Linux as like Mint, it based on Ubuntu but uses the very lightweight Enlightenment Window Manager which will be a lot less Spartan than CrunchBang!

    Firefox and any of the bigger browsers will stress that spec quite a bit. You could try the Midori browser which should be in the Mint (or Bodhi) repositories.
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  10. #9
    Just Joined! asand1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    47
    Code:
    aaron@aaron-K8N ~ $ glxgears
    Running synchronized to the vertical refresh.  The framerate should be
    approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
    303 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.570 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.021 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.022 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.021 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.021 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.022 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.021 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.022 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.021 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.024 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.018 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.021 FPS
    301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.021 FPS
    XIO:  fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server ":0.0"
          after 48 requests (48 known processed) with 0 events remaining.
    aaron@aaron-K8N ~ $ glxinfo | grep direct
    direct rendering: Yes
        GL_EXT_direct_state_access, GL_EXT_draw_range_elements, GL_EXT_fog_coord, 
    aaron@aaron-K8N ~ $

  11. #10
    Just Joined! asand1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    47
    Code:
    aaron@aaron-K8N ~ $ glxinfo | grep render
    direct rendering: Yes
    OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 6600/AGP/SSE2/3DNOW!
        GL_KTX_buffer_region, GL_NVX_conditional_render, 
        GL_OES_fbo_render_mipmap, GL_OES_get_program_binary, GL_OES_mapbuffer, 
    aaron@aaron-K8N ~ $
    Does this look like hardware acceleration is on?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •