Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I have encountered this twice now while installing software with the make install command. First off, I downloaded Konstruct to update my KDE to 3.3. I did all the procedural ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14

    Super Slow Software Installs


    I have encountered this twice now while installing software with the make install command. First off, I downloaded Konstruct to update my KDE to 3.3. I did all the procedural things properly, but once I began the "make install" it took over two hours to finish.
    Secondly, I had to download Qt 3 to satisfy the KDE installation, and again, same thing; after "make install" it has been 2 hours plus (as I'm typing this) and it still hasn't finished installing. No error messages or anything, the software is installing correctly, but it's just taking forever. When I run urpmi, I have absolutely no problems at all. Everything installs fairly quickly, but when I have to do the tarball thing, I'm sitting here for hours watching the terminal. Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance.

    A little about my setup (and don't laugh!)
    Dell Dimension
    Celeron 500mhz
    320mb ram
    C: 12.6 gb Maxtor @7200 (WinXP)
    D: 80gb Maxtor @7200 (12gb Linux ext2 partition, 640mb swap, the rest is just files and folders on fat32)
    Mandrake 10.1
    KDE 3.2

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    urpmi uses precompiled packages so there's no compiling involved which takes a lot of time when compiling large packages (qt) and very large packages (konstruct/kde) . To compile complete KDE it will take about 3-4 days of compiling on your machine.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    Yeah, all of KDE and Qt is probably 100 MB of source code or more, that takes a helluva long time to compile on older machines.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    Well, the problem I'm having now is even though I've installed Qt3.3, Konstruct says I don't have it on my machine. Perhaps I'm in over my head trying to install KDE on my own.

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Did you try installing QT using your pacakge manager or did you compile it from source ?
    Could be that your missing some parts of QT, maybe you'll have to install a QT-devel package as well. This is only valid when you did install packages using your package manager.

    Could you provide more information about the error ?
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    If you installed Qt in a non standard place (ie not /usr or /usr/local), you'll need to set up some variables. Put these in /etc/profile, or somewhere where all users who will be compiling things using qt will be able to find them:

    QTDIR needs to be set to the directory you installed Qt into
    PATH must contain $QTDIR/bin
    would be helpful to include $QTDIR/man in MANPATH
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH should contain $QTDIR/lib , or add the directory to ld.so.conf

    Make sure you export these variables.

    Sometimes, you still might need to give some options to ./configure like '--with-qtdir=/somewhere/qt' and '--with-qt-includes=/somewhere/qt/include', but you should check './configure --help' to see what it says about that.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    Well, I got it to find and recognize my Qt files, now I get this message:

    You're missing bzip2 development files.
    make[2]: *** [configure-work/kdelibs-3.3.2/configure] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/ron/konstruct/kde/kdelibs'
    make[1]: *** [dep-../../kde/kdelibs] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/ron/konstruct/kde/kdeaccessibility'
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/ron/konstruct/kde/kdeaddons'
    I have the kdelibs that it says are missing, unless I'm misreading the error message. Very frustrating indeed!

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    You're missing bzip2 development files. <-- that's the error. Solution: install the bzip2-devel package
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    14
    Thanks. Sometimes the obvious is not so obvious to me.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1
    This is awfully late, but you probably should investigate a tool in konstruct called "detektive" if you are installing KDE 3.4. It will tell you all the packages you need to install for successfull compilation. It works for SuSE 8.1+ and Mandrake 9.1+.

    Go to <path>/konstruct/misc/detektive and type "make".

    It will report all required and recommended packages, which you can use urpmi then to install.

    Here is an excerpt from my experience:

    Code:
    Detected Mandrake 10.1 as distribution.
    
    Checking for known uninstalled rpm packages which may be missing&#58;
     Package&#58; byacc &#40;REQUIRED&#41;
     Package&#58; libungif4-devel &#40;REQUIRED&#41;
     Package&#58; libbzip2_1-devel &#40;REQUIRED&#41;
     Package&#58; libsmbclient0-devel &#40;RECOMMENDED&#41;
     Package&#58; xpdf &#40;OPTIONAL&#41;
      "Required by PDF kfile-Plugin"
    And then to get everything installed:
    Code:
    root@myserver detektive&#93;# urpmi byacc libungif4-devel libbzip2_1-devel libsmbclient0-devel xpdf
    Hope that helps!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •