Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Installing software packages on Linux 7.1

Hi All,

I am a newbie to Linux and I would like to have some help regarding installation of software packages on Oracle Linux 7.1. I did a minimal install of the OS and also installed Compatibility Libraries as an Addon. Amongst other settings, I disabled SELinux, updated all packages using yum update and added EPEL release 7.5 to yum. Next, I did a yum grouplist to see the available packages and started installing required packages using yum groupinstall command.

Now some packages like Additional Development could not be installed because I did not install mariadb-devel packages. Questions: What's the best way to install mariadb? Will SQL 5.6 do the same job?

The main issue I found is I could not install many packages like Console Internet Tools, General Purpose Desktop, Compatibility Libraries, Java Platform, NFS File server and so on. I can see these packages are the the available groups list but when I try to install, yum does not find any packages to install for these packages. Question: What I am missing here? Why can I use yum to install some packages but not others?

I redownloaded the public yum repo file and then tried to install but that did not help.

I also tried mounting the iso file for Oracle Linux 7.1 (downloaded from the oracle website), created a repo file for yum to use the iso file while disabling all other repo files and tried to install the packages but that didn't help either.

I then downloaded the public-yum-ol6.repo repo file and enabled it while disabling other repo files. This time yum did find packages to install but there version issues.

What am I missing here?

Thank you for your help.

Regards,

Vishal

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.