Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37
ok thanks no when i type wine it says command not found sooo now iii can do what? install the rpm since its not installed i can open the rpm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    21

    ok thanks
    no when i type wine it says
    command not found
    sooo now iii can do what? install the rpm
    since its not installed i can open the rpm again right???

  2. #12
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It could be you need to update the databse before installing the RPM. From the command line as root go:

    updatedb [enter]

    Try installing the wine RPM after it stops. It's worth a try...

    Is this the wine RPM from your install CD's ?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    21
    sorry
    i did that and it sits there

    [root@pcp0010089813pcs root]# updatedb

    its blinkin on the next line
    it says nothing

    i got wine from winehq.com

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    21
    ok the whole root line came back up

    [root@pcp0010089813pcs root]#

    i double click on the rpm
    it asks me for my root password, then it doesn't do anything
    i'm sorry, i know nothing about linux

  5. #15
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Just be patient and don't beat yourself up to much . This is all new and it will take a while to get the hang of it. Regardless of what you did before, I'm gonna steer you through the process. First open a terminal and become root. You do that by typing in:

    su

    And then press enter. It will then ask for your root password. Type it in and press enter. Now notice the '$' sign at the end is now a '#' sign. This means you are now Super User and can do almost anything so be careful!

    I presume you downloaded this wine RPM into your home directory? Let's check. Type in:

    ls [enter]

    [enter] of course, means press enter. Don't type that in... You should now see all the things in your home directory. Is the wine RPM there? Good. Now from the command line type...

    rpm -ivh wine [tab]

    When you press the tab key, it fills the rest in for you! That goes for anything else you want to "fill in" with. You'll learn to value the tab key more than just about anything!

    You should have something that looks like this...

    rpm -ivh wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i386.rpm

    Now press enter. Post back and let me know how it went.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    21
    [root@pcp0010089813pcs needsmorebass5000]# rpm -ivh wine [tab]
    wine wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i686.rpm
    wine-20041201-1rh8winehq.src.rpm wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.tar.gz
    wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i386.rpm wine_new_source?
    [root@pcp0010089813pcs needsmorebass5000]# rpm -ivh wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i686.rpm

    nothin

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    21
    not gettin upset with ya or anything
    just, one game of tetris later and its still not doin anything
    is it not done yet?
    like i said, it doens't do anything when i doubleclicked on it
    and i just installed rh9 so this is like a brand new computer... its not somethin' i did
    at least it shouldn't be

  8. #18
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by garfunkel289
    [root@pcp0010089813pcs needsmorebass5000]# rpm -ivh wine [tab]
    wine wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i686.rpm
    wine-20041201-1rh8winehq.src.rpm wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.tar.gz
    wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i386.rpm wine_new_source?
    [root@pcp0010089813pcs needsmorebass5000]# rpm -ivh wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i686.rpm

    nothin
    This shows you've downloaded more than one version. Being RH 9 you should likely go with wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i386.rpm. So you should have exactly this right after the # sign...

    rpm -ivh wine-20041201-1rh9winehq.i386.rpm


    If that's what you have, then press enter. Post back what happens...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    21
    yeah its hard to see but i did that and it hung

  10. #20
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It seems like there's something going on that it's not letting you install that RPM. I remember having this happen with me a few times with RH. Shutdown your computer, wait a few seconds and reboot into RH9. Then try again. I don't know what causes this but this has worked for me before in the same situation.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •