Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I've noticed that in my Yahoo Mail Inbox if I click on the 'Move' or 'Mark' buttons, or any infact that give a drop down menu, this menu will not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157

    FireFox and YahooMail Interface


    I've noticed that in my Yahoo Mail Inbox if I click on the 'Move' or 'Mark' buttons, or any infact that give a drop down menu, this menu will not show up. But these menus do show up in in Konqurer, I'm wondering if there is a fix for this?

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    what version of firefox are you using? it seems to be working fine for me on mozilla 1.7.5, but i don't have firefox installed currently so i can't try it out. but i'd imagine it should work if you have the newest version of firefox installed (1.0).

  3. #3
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I've got FireFox 1.0

    thanks;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    40
    I am running Firefox 1.0 Rev 1.7.5, I do have the drop down menus in Yahoo mail. I have to physically click on Mark and Move to see the dropdowns.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    When I physicly clickon it nothing happens, do these menus use Java? since I'm still haveing problems with it working

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    Help -> About Mozilla Firefox
    Code:
    Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; FreeBSD i386; en-US; rv:1.7.5) Gecko/20050125 Firefox/1.0
    aboutlugins
    Code:
    Installed plug-ins
    Find more information about browser plug-ins at Netscape.com.
    Help for installing plug-ins is available from plugindoc.mozdev.org.
    Default Plugin
    
        File name: libnullplugin.so
        The default plugin handles plugin data for mimetypes and extensions that are not specified and facilitates downloading of new plugins.
    
    MIME Type 	Description 	Suffixes 	Enabled
    * 	All types 	.* 	No
    this is firefox on my machine currently. it's version 1.0 on FreeBSD installed through the FreeBSD ports, but it shouldn't differ from the Linux version. i have no plugins installed as you can see from the output of aboutlugins, so it doesn't require anything special to get the dropdown menus. to get the menu i have to physically click on it, but it works fine.

    where did you get firefox from? the official site or is a distro-specific rpm or something?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I have the official version from the FireFox site.

    I had a look at the plugins in firefox, I had the one sether has and a Flash one and a Real player one, but no Java.

    I looked at the Konqurer plugins and it has all that FireFox has but it does have Java installed;

    I have been physicly clicking on the button but it does nothing,

    I'll look into getting the Java plugins working in FireFox;

    Thanks

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  8. #8
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I sorted it out!

    I did this by installing java in the /opt directory, thanks to LC's post

    thanks for all your comments;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •